Not just socks.

My sister, Jane, Gradient dyed cashmere from Colourmart

My sister, Jane, Gradient dyed cashmere from Colourmart

I am overwhelmed. Not with the 12 inches of snow on the way, and the prospect of losing power which is always a real hassle with Danny’s equipment.  Not with the first day side effects of chemo (mostly a killer headache and the effects of the steroids, besides being tired from not sleeping last night from the anxiety) .  Not even with the mountains left to declutter.  (OK, maybe that is overwhelming)

Julia who wore her socks to minister to her lost boys in Ukraine.

Julia who wore her socks to minister to her lost boys in Ukraine.

I am a totally visual learner.  100 %.  And today i have gotten so many photographs via email, facebook, even on my phone, of socks and not even socks.

Ginny who braved climbing up on the tallest chair so the light would be right,...

Ginny who braved climbing up on the tallest chair so the light would be right,…

Totally gorgeous socks with the heels worn right through.  And I have learned that I can be easily overwhelmed by such a huge outpouring of love, manifest in simple knitwear.  Prayer socks.

Teresa Pazur who now has this as her profile picture - blue cashmere sparkle socks

Teresa Pazur who now has this as her profile picture – blue cashmere sparkle socks

Basic recipe…. women’s medium sock.  cast on 60 with waste yarn, knit a few rows.  Knit 20 rows, pick up for hem.  Knit 80 rows, do short row heel.  knit 60 rows, do short row toe.  repeat for other sock.  So not counting the heels and toes (which probably should count but counting doesn’t happen on chemo days) that’s 60 times (20 plus 80 plus 60) all times two for a pair.    That’s 19,200 stitches plus two heels, two toes and some provisional cast on.  and 30 stitches of Kitchener.

and teresa's daughter Maggie who needs smaller ones next year.  Sam says she likes them anyway.

and teresa’s daughter Maggie who needs smaller ones next year. Sam says she likes them anyway.

19,200 prayers per pair.  Each stitch thanksgiving, intercession, love.

And of course K. M. who says she took these out of the vault for photography purposes only and I believe her

And of course K. M. who says she took these out of the vault for photography purposes only and I believe her

 

Which is why last year at Virginia Suzuki Institute I had to bring her another pair to WEAR, which she does, and that makes me so happy.

KM's wearable socks

KM’s wearable socks

I am overwhelmed at the concept that people took the time today, our of their storm preparations and homeschooling and managing seizures and preparing for heart surgeries and fundraising for children with DS who NEED to be with their families to find their socks and put them on and take a picture and upload the whole thing and send it to me.

Mrs. Foss even used Frametastic (I have got to see if they have this for android) to make a sock collage.

Mrs. Foss even used Frametastic (I have got to see if they have this for android) to make a sock collage.

And this is only the beginning… a few from facebook and a few from email.  To get the ones from my phone I have to find the cable, which involves being vertical.  Vertical is just not good today.

And these are Michelle Q's... you know the socks on the "praying for Elizabeth DeHority button? She made those, so I made these :-)

And these are Michelle Q’s… you know the socks on the “praying for Elizabeth DeHority button? She made those, so I made these !!

I have started a list – a real written down list – of who needs socks.  Some people need the socks, some people need the prayers that come with the socks.

Always putting her daughter first, Mary warms her Courtney with line green cashmere.  I think Mary needs Our Lady Blue cashmere for when she's up in the chair all night doing her own continuous praying.

Always putting her daughter first, Mary warms her Courtney with line green cashmere. I think Mary needs Our Lady Blue cashmere for when she’s up in the chair all night doing her own continuous praying.

I’ve loved the stories as much as the photographs.  To be honest, I’ve gotten a little weepy, it’s been a REALLY sentimental sort of day, looking back at at least 8 years worth of socks (I’ve been knitting socks for lots longer, but i think 8 is the oldest I saw a photo of today)

Patti didn't have to type her sock story... I know it by heart ...

Patti didn’t have to type her sock story… I know it by heart …

Time for just one more, Danny’s pumper has been beeping for ages and I have to go fix something.  The rest, and the stories without socks, tomorrow.  Unless we lose power, in which case we lose internet… which leaves LOTS more time for praying and knitting.

Victoria Borin says she wore her socks to every chemo (she has finished her breast cancer treatment) and continues to wear them all.  the.  time.  I vote she deserves a new pair!

Victoria Borin says she wore her socks to every chemo (she has finished her breast cancer treatment) and continues to wear them all. the. time. I vote she deserves a new pair!

I am so grateful.  You all know about the DeHority Distraction Principle from Kelle and  also from Julia.    Do click those links if you don’t read their blogs, they have great insight into my make-a-wish concept.  But anyway, you all (and there’s WAY MORE I HAVEN’T POSTED YET!!!) are even a better distraction.  I am overwhelmed with love.  

And now back to my knitting.  Might have to get faster, my list is growing quickly.  What a joy, people who value the power of prayer… each stitch a prayer, with love.

 

 

 

 

 

 

20 thoughts on “Not just socks.

  1. Well my Dear, :o) you know what I make for those I LOVE while praying! It is indeed a gift to be able to not only make something for others but also to pray for them while doing it! I keep the names in a notebook adding as I go! It was about 10 years ago that God gave me this gift to share- and I have loved every minute. Only difference is I keep mine secret. Only those who have “one” know what it is! LOL!!
    The socks are outstanding- LOVE the pictures! YOU my Sweet One are SO LOVED!!
    ((((((((((HUGS)))))))))))

  2. It’s a beautiful Ministry, these socks! I want to wear my rainbow Mochi socks & mittens today but I cannot put my hands on them. 😦

  3. What a blessing you are Elizabeth…for those who are lucky enough to have received your socks and prayers and also for those of us who simply call you a friend! Love, hugs and prayers!

  4. I don’t have a pair of the famous Elizabeth D. socks,but I started a pair for myself 20-odd weeks ago and I prayed for you when I knitted them. I wore them yesterday and thought of you! I decided last semester to start knitting socks for those I know who need the extra prayers because of you.

    Blessings to you all and I hope the power stays on!

  5. I don’t have any socks, but I’m sending prayers and love down south from Virginia. Those socks just put a huge smile on my face. I’m glad they put one on your face too. Hang in there!!

  6. I would so LOVE Our Lady Blue socks for my chair sitting, prayer begging nights!! You have no idea!! Miss Elizabeth you are such a gift to us. Thank You, Thank you, Thank you for the prayers especially and for the warmth of those prayers wrapped around us. Hugs and LOTS of love from our house to yours ❤

  7. Pingback: Cozy knitting chatting – and a book giveaway!

  8. I have never met you but you are such an inspiring, beautiful, loving woman. I am blessed to be able to share your posts.

  9. Pingback: A Very Important Story About Socks | Club Scrap

Leave a comment