Whatever is lovely… think about these things….

Philippians 4:8

8 Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.

Tomorrow I have chemotherapy.  I have a very common problem among oncology infusion patients – PTSD – which in our case stands for PRE traumatic stress disorder.  Just the anticipation of chemotherapy creates some of the same symptoms and side effects that the actual drugs do.  I get the worst anxiety, I think because the steroids that go with chemo give me anxiety, and also because even though the actual infusion time isn’t all that bad, I know that once those drugs are in my body, there is no avoiding the next few days of ick.  Pure ick.

So I try to think about good things.  Like my friends.  My sweet sock-sister Ann  reminds me that I am always in her prayers by posting photos of my socks on her blog…..

DSC_1431

Tomorrow, if you have socks I’ve knit for you, can you send me a picture?  To esdehority@aol.com ?  or post it on your blog and send me a link?  I’d love to make a post of the collection…. THAT would certainly be a lovely thing to think about rather than being anxious.

And the cranes… those are lovely, too, and make me happy every time I see them.  Here is the website about their story – and take the time to click around and see her other art, too.

updates4

 

And when I was clicking around thinking about art instead of anxiety, I found that Karen had also written the COOLEST book which came today…..

updates3

 

Amazon Prime is a good thing, too 🙂

Oh, and ANOTHER true, noble, right and praiseworthy thing.  We talked about George and his experience with inclusion in his public school Montessori school.   I almost hesitate to share this, because I know that the vast majority of families suffer and struggle with their school choices (or lack of choices) and special education situations, while we are obviously in such an amazing school and class…  but this is just too good not to show you.  George missed school Friday because of a doctor’s appointment, and this is the email I got from the PRINCIPAL of his school today.  (and this is a BIG school, pre-K through 6th grade, HUGE campus…)  Here’s a screenshot of an email that I will carry in my heart to chemo tomorrow to think about when I get anxious:

updates5

 

How blessed WE are, to have a school lead by a principal who truly believes that inclusion benefits everyone.  And don’t even get me started about Miss Sherry….

Time to get everyone to bed so I can have my pre-chemo panic attack get some sleep before our big day tomorrow.  Oh, wait, I forgot, lots of emails asking “who’s Maggie???”

updates1

 

Maggie is Sam’s girlfriend, for about a year and a half, I think…. she goes to NCSSM with him.  Keeping with our theme for today, she is definitely lovely 🙂   And really, really smart.   Her mom, my friend Teresa, has – oops, HAD –  breast cancer, but is ALL DONE with surgery, chemo, radiation.  She says she is no longer a cancer patient, she is a cancer survivor.   AND Sam is coming home on Thursday through next Wednesday, to take care of things while Dixon finishes his work week.  That’s another good thing to think about.

So send me your sock pictures.  That would be excellent!

 

17 thoughts on “Whatever is lovely… think about these things….

  1. Tomorrow I get PAID to work with Kindergarteners. That is lovely too. I will sport ESD socks and send a photo. I am also praying tonight for PEACE with a big side heaping of GRATITUDE. I love you!

  2. Love you Elizabeth and although I can’t knit, I can say a prayer for comfort and calmness…something we always get from your posts! Hope you get some rest and feel the love from all your famly and friends!

  3. My prayers to you. I don’t knit, but I crochet, and hope to someday work myself up to crocheting socks. If I do, I’ll send you a picture.

    • Amy, you can do it. Nothing tricky about crocheting socks except short rows at the heels. Suggest first pair with thick wool so they’re slipper-like. Wool, not cotton. Wool stretches. Acrylic, cotton, alpaca, silk – not so much.

  4. I don’t have socks from you but first found your blog from a link in Anne Voskamp’s. She showed socks you had knitted and prayed over.

    I can let you know I will pray for you from down here and will especially pray about the steroids. I can see first hand their nasty effects in my tiny nine year old granddaughter. She was diagnosed with ALL leukaemia on January 1 this year. Spent the next five weeks in hospital. Steroids have given her pancreatitis and diabetes so far. Certainly they have helped but it comes at a cost too. Lots of bone marrow biopsies and intramuscular injections into her thin body. Numbers from tests are better and she is one of the best places in the world for childhood leukaemia but it breaks my heart to see her.

    So many prayers for you and yours, Elizabeth.

  5. Elizabeth, I don’t have any socks from you–I started lurking on your blog a couple of years ago when a friend told me about it. Tomorrow afternoon I have arranged for time away from my 8 kids so I can study for my Family Medicine boards (I only work in the summer now) and every time I get a problem wrong I will pray for you (unfortunately for me but good for you that will be a lot of prayers!). Lisa

  6. many prayers my sweet friend. I can’t wait to post Miss Courtney’s “special socks tomorrow” we love them and to know that they were knit with such love is beyond what we deserve. you can do this my friend. one step at a time. much love from our house to yours.

  7. Your precious blog entries have been such a blessing. Thanks for taking the time to let us know how we can pray. I will be praying lovely things for you tomorrow. Things just like Ann, socks, cranes, Amazon Prime, precious princi-PALS, Maggie, Teresa, and the stuff that makes life lovely.

  8. The PTSD thing makes total sense and yikes steroids do indeed enhance all negative things going on in the mind and body if I do say so myself. Wishing you all the best!
    If you haven’t read this blog (http://www.dotodaywell.com/) maybe give it a try. Her attitude about chemo (for I believe stage four recurrent breast cancer?) is spectacularly positive, never know maybe some of the happy vibes will rub off on you. She was able to go into chemotherapy with a really embracing spirit the first time around and even more amazingly the second time around after spending several months believing she was done with cancer. It floors me every time I read a post. I’m not that positive about the easy fun happy things in my life. 🙂
    P.S. You are fortunate indeed to have such amazing public school choices! We’re not too far from there maybe your cities progressiveness will work itself this way! Doesn’t it just make your heart all kinds of happy to be able to send you boy off to a place he’s loved? Nothing’s better really than that.

  9. Elizabeth, I have sent a photo of my socks. I wore the first pair until there were strands of yarn holding them together. I’m being more careful with this pair. I do, however, wear the wool socks all the time-you know the weather we have been having;(. You and your precious family are always in my prayers, but I’m sending more to you this day and will again tomorrow – your pure ick day. You truly are blessed with George’s school and teacher(s) and principal. One of your most lovely things must be watching him grow and learn. He, along with the rest of your family, are such gifts to your community. Love, Nancy

  10. My socks are at the mountain house right now…..you made them for me years ago and are still my favorites….Ahhh George, you know the classroom just does not have the right vibe anymore without him with us….even the children complain that they miss him too much….he was so verbal today and so happy at school … a little timid about the snow this morning when I took the class out…but talked about it this afternoon….Love to you my friend

Leave a Reply

