What’s Up? 27 February 2015

So what is new? Lots. Sorry to be so totally delinquent with the updates, my family lives here with me every day and even they feel that way, it’s just been crazy.

Basically, a couple of weeks ago they did MRI which showed way more cancer way more places. In just the few days it took to arrange the MRI with contrast to clarify all that,the cancer had spread. Lots. So they stopped the drugs that weren’t working and decided to try http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Carboplatin along with another old but good drug called VP16 ( http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Etoposide )

And while we’re at it, remember that surgery I had to get chunks of tumor to send to Foundation One to look at mutations? Those didn;t get actuallly sent, or they got lost, but there was plenty of spare chunks of cancer sitting in the lab so they sent more. Maybe results by the end of the week. Meanwhile the wound is NOT healing. Two nurses and a large dose of IV narcotics let them repack the wound today,,,, ugh. They will look at it again today. And in other news, you know that pretty much 100 % of my vertebrae have cancer…. one crunched and broke today, due to a cough from a respiratory infection (for which I am now on antibiotics…) and the whole thing is complicated by all the steroids, which not only prevent healing but cause diabetes. Two early checks indicate that I may now be diabetic. Pancreatic metastases on MRI might should have given us a clue about that, too….

and it is 338 AM, I am going to try to get some sleep despite all this stuff to worry about. I love you all, please keep forgiving my lack of correspondence…. I will try to do better. I promise.

10 thoughts on “What’s Up? 27 February 2015

  1. You are in our prayers .. Just started a at Jude novena for the little Illicete girl… Have included you… Praying Mary surround you with her mantle…and place you at the bend of Her arm… Grace and Mercy to you today..

  2. I’m so sorry to hear such a collection of woeful news. Sending you prayers and love and hopes for restful moments throughout the day. Gentle {{hugs}}

  3. You do and have done so much to keep in touch already. Don’t worry about anyone but you and your precious family. Thank You Thank You Thank You for having included me, my boys and my family into your beautiful life!
    We LOVE you so much! We Thank God for you! (((((((((HUGS))))))) with many prayers

  4. I had to stop reading your email earlier…it was difficult for me to continue. I know that I do not know you personally, but I have been reading your blog for a long time and I feel like we’ve been friends that long as well. I just finished reading this post and I look up to Heaven and ask Our Lord why…why is this happening to you? He could have chosen any number of horrible people that walk this earth, but I feel that one day when you get to Heaven, you will be free of cancer and pain and all the suffering that you have been going through for a very long time. May God wrap his loving arms around you and ease the pain that you go through daily. Blessings to you my far away friend…Janel in NJ

Leave a Reply

