Sock stories

Betsy, who doesn't have any ESD prayer socks, prays for me and my family anyway, so she sent me this photo, which i LOVE.

Betsy, who doesn’t have any ESD prayer socks, prays for me and my family anyway, so she sent me this photo, which i LOVE.

I guess if I’d done the math about how many socks I’d knit and prayed over the past fifteen years or so, I would have realized that even if half went to my family, that there were a lot of socks out there… but I didn’t really think that there ARE a LOT of socks out there that their recipients still wear and love.

Betsy English gets socks often, that all started when quarreling over whose turn it was to wear which socks was making the whole "mothering adolescent girls" thing way harder than it should be... and then Rom couldn't be left out!

Betsy English gets socks often, that all started when quarreling over whose turn it was to wear which socks was making the whole “mothering adolescent girls” thing way harder than it should be… and then Rom couldn’t be left out!

I can’t tell you how happy it’s made me, over the past few days, to get all the emails and the photos.  Anybody who makes homemade presents knows that worry… it’s homemade…. will they like it?  and they know I made it myself, so it’s not like they can say anything if they don’t like it… so you never really know.  Until today.  People who don’t like their socks don’t go to all this trouble to make these amazing special photos and email them to me… they started arriving within MINUTES of my request.

These were Edda's first esd prayer socks.

These were Edda’s first esd prayer socks.

And these are Edda's newest ones, she and my mom worked together to make me a quilt I really wanted for Christmas so i made purple cashmere socks for her in thanksgiving (which is sort of lame considering how much work and time and thinking and expensive fabric go into a whole quilt vs a little pair of socks made of industrial remnant cashmere, but it was the best i could do...

And these are Edda’s newest ones, she and my mom worked together to make me a quilt I really wanted for Christmas so i made purple cashmere socks for her in thanksgiving (which is sort of lame considering how much work and time and thinking and expensive fabric go into a whole quilt vs a little pair of socks made of industrial remnant cashmere, but it was the best i could do…

These newest socks of Edda’s… she’s wearing them to her first meeting of a caregiver support group for people taking care of others with dementia.  I can’t imagine how hard that must be.  But if she feels like wearing her socks brings ALL of us with her to lift her up and support her, you know, that’s a great thing, to be part of that sisterhood.

Esther (and if you read the comments you KNOW Esther) wore hers to school today.  I need to tell you about Esther teaching developmentally delayed kids to knit,and then getting Addi to donate equipment for the occupational therapists to keep up the lessons.

Esther (and if you read the comments you KNOW Esther) wore hers to school today. I need to tell you about Esther teaching developmentally delayed kids to knit,and then getting Addi to donate equipment for the occupational therapists to keep up the lessons.

Now have you noticed that some of these socks are looking familiar?  I knit a whole pile of matching pairs for a group of friends, I know I posted about it somewhere…. … that top photo has one of the socks in progress… I knit a pair for everyone in our group, and then an extra two socks for Elizabeth Foss to guard in case somebody lost one or something.  She has spare yarn just in case, too.

The feet inside these socks belong to Kathy Dickason...  we've been friends so long, she was my girl scout leader when I was in elementary school.  These particular socks were my travel knitting for a trip to Michigan a couple of years ago, and I finished them the afternoon that Kathy lost her daughter Barbara.  What a blessing it was to be able to send some tangible comfort over to their house with my parents...

The feet inside these socks belong to Kathy Dickason… we’ve been friends so long, she was my girl scout leader when I was in elementary school. These particular socks were my travel knitting for a trip to Michigan a couple of years ago, and I finished them the afternoon that Kathy lost her daughter Barbara. What a blessing it was to be able to send some tangible comfort over to their house with my parents…

I guess I give most of my socks away at Christmas time… as i knit them through the year, usually one sock a week, I wash and block them, and put them in a special box… the Christmas season starts for me in my heart when we have our book club Christmas dinner and I bring the box (at its very fullest) and everybody chooses a new pair.  And Abigail also chooses a pair for her mama, Lillian, who says, just like Ann’s mama,that the socks remind her to pray for me.  And it took a while for both women to have enough ESD prayer socks for them to actually wear them, rather than keep them carefully laid out on the bureau top, lest they get worn out or holes or something….

And these are my friend Linda T's... she's even got the professionals in on the praying... her mama stays in a care facility run by the Sisters of St, Joseph, with lots of retired sisters who pray for me every.  single.  day.

And these are my friend Linda T’s… she’s even got the professionals in on the praying… her mama stays in a care facility run by the Sisters of St, Joseph, with lots of retired sisters who pray for me every. single. day.

So I never intended these socks to be like a prayer chain, or a prayer swap.  As a matter of fact, there are plenty of my socks given to and worn by folks who are not people of faith AT ALL.  But their socks are still made with 19,200 prayers, plus two heels and two toes and 30 kitchener stitches on each one.  I’ve never felt compelled to explain that to non-believing people when giving them socks… I know the prayers are in the working of each stitch, and i know the socks will be worn and give love and comfort.  If perhaps all this is connected in their hearts some day, well, that would be awfully nice.  But if it doesn’t happen, it doesn’t take anything away from the joy of “oro et laboro”

One more set... Marilyn dyed this yarn from the Easter Egg dye tutorial on my blog, and has become an expert dyer.

One more set… Marilyn dyed this yarn from the Easter Egg dye tutorial on my blog, and has become an expert dyer.

That yarn in the photo above - she knit into these socks.  Gorgeous, don't you think?

That yarn in the photo above – she knit into these socks. Gorgeous, don’t you think?

I feel like passing along knowledge, like simple non-toxic dyeing, is even more important that passing along finished socks, but not quite as valuable as praying.  So I think, as my energy allows, I am going to take pictures and post my recipe for my very simple hemmed top sock, just as I go along knitting the next one.

But first, I have at least a whole nother post of sock (and non-sock pictures) to show you.  And a video of george that you’ll love.  Now it’s time to sign off, though.  Day 2 post chemo is REALLY hard.  I have a big hematoma from one of my blood thinner shots, which they can’t evacuate because all that would happen would be that it would bleed more.  I had gotten lazy about my eyedrops and my vision is NOT GOOD.  And then there’s the general ick.  I’ve cried a lot today, I would much rather be playing outside in the snow with my babies than struggling to find a comfortable spot on the sofa.  So thank you again for the sock pictures.  They have been the best distraction ever, I’m treasuring the memories and the stories that you’ve sent along.  Joy, joy, joy. And more tomorrow.  I have at least  a dozen left.  Love, esd

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “Sock stories

  1. Elizabeth, I’ve never commented on your blog before but I wanted you to know this Jewish mom (also musical mom and Suzuki mom) is praying for you. I will also mention your name at weekly services (I have done so before as “Elizabeth Spinner” as i don’t know your actual last name. 🙂 )

  2. Oh Elizabeth! I love all the pics! Rest, rest , rest! My prayers are lifting up for you as I turn out the lights. My mornings begin early as I travel down to care for grandchildren . Sleep well!

  3. Oh Elizabeth, although not a proud owner of ESD socks, you are in my prayers. Sometimes a good cry is just that…a good cry. My daughter listens to a song by Jamie Grace every morning called “It’s a Beautiful Day.” One of the lyrics is “When trouble seems to rain on my dreams
    It’s not a big, not a big deal, Let it wash all the bugs off my windshield” Maybe today was just a bug washin’ day.

  4. Even if Betsy doesn’t have ESD socks, she has an ESDEAP honey bee. 🙂 By the way, I love that someone has honey bee socks! (For some reason the video didn’t show up for me. Sometimes.my phone is goofy. I am sure it will pop up later. I will come back and add more comments when I see the video. Speaking of George, because of him Felic and I play a silly driving game we call “FIRE HYDRANT DRAGON BUTTONS”. The rules are simple: when she sees a hydrant she announces it, and I have to respond by saying ‘dragon buttons’. We have played since George was a wee baby, when I looked EVERY WHERE for suitable dragon buttons for a BSJ.)

  5. There are two different Betsy’s – the top one doesn’t have (yet) any ESD socks but the one with all the feet in all the socks (including the bee socks) is the beekeeper Betsy. But don’t worry, there’s only one Esther 🙂

    • Well this one Esther is headed to a challenging job today wearing an OLOG T shirt and ESD Christmas socks. ❤ & hugs & prayer & offering – me

  6. I am so enjoying seeing all of these gorgeous socks. It always amazes me that something can link humanity together in such an incredible way. You continue to amaze me. I pray you do find a comfortable spot today. Hugs.

  7. LOVE-LOVE-LOVE to read these prayer/sock stories. I know for a fact that God directs you as to where the prayers, I mean socks, should go! He’s done that for me with my shawls. Each time I’m overwhelmed with His love, that He would return so much JOY from those I made them for- back to me! God is Good!!
    (((HUGS))) LOVE and PRAYERS!!

  8. thanks for posting my Easter Egg Dyed yarn and socks to share with everyone. I am glad the photos sent by everyone helps distract you and lets you know how much they mean.

  9. Just wanted to reach out and extend a Christian hand of love to you – for I too pray over socks and beleive that the Lord Himself shall touch the soul of the person who wears them. You see, my ministry started officially almost 6 years ago – and in that time we have sent out over 50,000 pairs of socks, all prayed over, and with faith we beleive that His healing is on each one. So keep on touching and praying in faith – for as it says in Isaiah 52:7
    How beautiful upon the mountains Are the feet of him who brings good news, Who proclaims peace, Who brings glad tidings of good things,…

    Blessings to you – Theresa Tese – Founder of Comfort Socks – a 501(c)3 public charity. http://www.comfortsocks.org

Leave a Reply

