Zoom. Independent.

Emily has a blog that I really, really appreciate.  Even the title,

heymomcome+ seewhatididtoday!

makes me think about how special our relationship is.  I hear friends complain that their teenagers never talk to them, never listen to them… and I am so amazingly blessed to have a sixteen year old who not only talks to me, but BLOGS to me.

Today I am just copying and pasting a poem from another one of her blogs, a poetry site where she writes as Citron.

Monday, March 7, 2011

 

When Danny was five he went to kindergarten like
all of the other five year olds in the sylvan neighborhood. 
He laughed and played with them
and sometimes left his chair, took off his shoe braces,
and felt the grass with hot bare feet
for a playground game.
My afternoon routine then was to hop off the school bus,
run inside our house for a snack and cold soda,
walk slowly up the hill,
sign the papers his nurse needed,
walk slowly home. 
“Faster, faster Emily!  Run!”
sometimes he hollered,
and I would run. 
We would come down the hill laughing
his face white and angelic and fragile
and mine a redder kind of proud relief
at being home at last. 

Well, Danny got a new self-propelling wheelchair on Saturday
and today is Monday. 
He can not be described as fragile anymore,
he has agendas and dreams and squarer limbs.
He still has trouble running but not for weakness.
His arms are strong enough to push his own wheels
said our mother.  So now he does.
I hopped off the school bus today,
slowly walked home.
At 3:15, like always,
I laced my sneakers and left to pick up my seven year old. 
I signed the form, reminded him to thank his nurse.

I opened the door and Danny pushed into the spring sunshine
and like a blacksmith with a forearm-sized anvil
he worked his way home,
I could only peck in a “watch for the edge” and a
“Are you sure you don’t need help?” He was sure.
Going down the steep hill to our house
I wanted to hold the significantly smaller handles
tight, to keep him from crashing. 
But he panted to me that he knew how
to slow enough,
and whipped down the asphalt
cackling madly about “THIS IS AWESOME”
and EEEHAHAHAHA!
I ran behind him, and although our shadows merged
it was all his. 

He navigated the curb up to the driveway
and got out, stumbling from exaustion.
I giggled at him from the front poorch,
and he tired smiled back
a sweaty red proud relief
at being home
at last. 

-Citron

Posted by Citron et Pamplemousse at 1:02 PM 0 comments:

9 thoughts on “Zoom. Independent.

  1. thanks for the SMILE of the day! Love the poem. wish I had a big sister like Emily, she sounds like the perfect daughter!

  2. Oh Elizabeth, could a mother ask for anything more, well of course she can…but the joy, not just earthly, temporary happiness, but true joy your children possess; a gift indeed. Part God, part great mothering. Emily’s words are amzingly beautiful and Danny, that boy is going somewhere!

  3. What a GORGEOUS poem! So much depth and insight, with such beautiful choice of words. Amazing girl, sister. Amazing mom, to create that. 🙂

  4. It made me smile. It made me laugh. It made me all misty-eyed. I hope she sends it for publication, aling with the ZOOOOM-ZOOOOOM photo at the end! Just wonderful. Truly. Ranks right up there with Emily Kingsley’s works. Truly.

  5. Emily’s heartfelt, beautifully expressed poem made me smile. I could almost hear her thinking, worrying and really could imagine Danny’s face, excitement and joy. Cackling….what a great word to use! The photos were great too!

    I was blessed with sons, but from what I’ve heard, and remember, you are blessed to have a daughter like Emily. Thank you for sharing her blog and making my day end with a smile on my face.

  6. I loved it. Emily is very talented in many, many ways. I love the relationship she has with you. It shows how awesome you are as a mother and how very special Emily is. I hope when Kathryn get’s older, she and I will have that same kind of relationship!

    I’m so proud of Danny. He is such an independent young man now!

Leave a Reply

