Rosary socks. Three pair.

The post right after my last post was supposed to be about my knitting for the car. You see, every year, the kids and I spend the beginning of August in Michigan. This year, I’m just not strong enough to drive there with the kids all by myself, so Dixon came up with a brilliant solution.  He drove us all the way up, flew back here to work his seven day shift, and then flew back up to drive us home. 

One thousand five hundred eighty seven miles of knitting time. 

Blue cashmere cardigan for me 🙂

Then in the post after that, I was going to tell you all about our trip.  I forgot to factor in, however, being so totally wiped out by the journey that blogging would be left by the wayside for a while.  Oh well.  The photos are there, safely hiding in the little CF card…

Wool hoodie for George

But anyway, back to the rosary socks.  Have you ever noticed that long car trips with captive children are PERFECT for introducing new forms of the rosary to them?  New sung rosaries on ipods, beautiful scriptural rosaries ready to be passed up and back between the seats… One of my role models as a Catholic mom told me long ago that if children can be entertained by singing “99 bottles of beer on the wall” they can certainly sing their way through five decades while held captive by their seatbelts.

Another sweater for George - merino cardigan

So I planned lots of knitting and praying.  First I was going to finish Enily’s green screen gloves… they needed to be done by her birthday  (and you already know that they weren’t…)

Emily's magic invisibility gloves

then perhaps sew some buttons on baby sweaters.

For Abigail's Grandbabies

For some reason, a pair of almost finished cashmere socks were calling to me.  You know, just plain socks.  Nothing special about the pattern, just round and round knit and pray socks.   So I knit, decade by decade, and they were done. 

Rosary socks, first pair (NC, VA, WV)

Fast-forward to the end of our first week in Michigan.  Dear friends of our family – my Girl Scout leader when I was in elementary school!  Parents of classmates of mine and my sister….  called my parents late in the evening to tell them that one of their daughtera had unexpectedly died.  What a blessing to be able to press a pair of prayer-filled socks into my mom’s hands to take to Kathy when they rushed over there minutes later.  In retrospect, I should have realized that the Holy Spirit was involved in my need to finish those socks…

And what does a praying knitter do when she finishes a pair of cashmere rosary socks and sends them to someone who needs so many more prayers than I could ever pray?  She casts on another pair, of course.  Blue ones this time. 

Rosary socks, second pair (mostly Ohio)

The second week we were there, my Aunt Nancy, my godmother, my mom’s little sister, had a heart catheterization that was followed unexpectedly by emergency quadruple bypass surgery.  The socks are done, and on their way.

With less than 1600 miles of driving, I didn’t have time to finish three pairs.  So my Aunt Mary Ellen’s aren’t quite done.  Aunt Mary Ellen and I have shared our cancer journey together.  We’ve complained about steroids together, worried about long term effects of chemotherapy together, whined and fussed about things tasting bad and the pains of mouth sores that just take forever to heal.  Aunt Mary Ellen was in critical condition in the ICU a couple of weeks ago, but being the amazingly strong lady she’s always been, was able to leave the rehab center last Monday to go out for ice cream with my dad, George and me (and a wonderful assortment of cousins, aunts and uncles!  I had just planned on a brief nursing home visit and was blessed with a family reunion instead.  It was the best part of my trip for sure)  But anyway, by the time the rest of the swelling in Aunt Mary Ellen’s legs go down, she’ll have a pair of very vivid purple cashmere prayer socks ready to put on. 

Colourmart Cashmere on its way to becoming Aunt Mary Ellen's socks.

So there you go.  Three pairs (almost) of Rosary Socks during one vacation.  And we still found time to go to the zoo and the beach.

7 thoughts on “Rosary socks. Three pair.

  1. I can’t begin to tell you just how inspiring you are! Sometimes I almost feel selfish anxiously waiting for your next post…what lessons we learn!

    The socks (and Emily’s gloves!) are beautiful and can’t even imagine how much the love and prayers knitted into each pair means to the special people that receive them!

    Can’t wait to see George model his hoodie! I know Emily is probably hard at work on her next video by now!

    Take care of yourself, busy person!

    Lots of love, hugs and prayers!

  2. Your knitting and prayers were obviously needed! Sorry I didn’t get to see you while you were here, but that is okay. You had some wonderful family time and it was fun hearing about it from your Mom.

  3. As always, your socks are amazing. Your prayers are powerful, and amazing. You are powerful, amazing, and inspiring.

    So, as you know, I’m in FLA. I *ONLY* packed three projects for this trip as we were pressed for luggage space with six people flying. I packed two pair of mittens in progress and a pair of gloves in progress. Well, the two mittens made it to FLA but the gloves did not. Along with the gloves in the knitting bag were sunglasses (NECESSARY IN FLORIDA FOR A MIGRAINE PERSON!!!), some knitting tools (small, easily replaced, but expen$ive), and a pair of Bose headphones that the “headphone fairy” mysteriously gifted to me a while ago in advance of this trip. I’m most upset about the headphones as I never even got to use them before this trip!!!! I’ve called airports, airlines, airport police, TSA, etc etc etc., and so far no luck finding the knitting bag with gloves in progress, sunglasses, and headphones. I’m SO BUMMED. Well, as you know I had a miracle with my lost purse in February so I’m hopeful for another miracle. But my optimism and hopes wane daily. Sigh. If you think of it, say a little prayer that the gloves-in-progress knitting bag might be left behind on the kitchen table! I’m sure they were lost in one airport or another, but maybe they’re in LOT E at the first airport, fallen in the car. Or perhaps they’re on the kitchen table. I hold out a bit of hope.

    I tatted another cross bookmark in the car these last two days.

    Miss you!

    So sorry for your family friend’s sudden unexpected loss of their precious daughter. I know all too well what being the survivor of sudden unexpected loss of someone too young is like. 😦 I will say prayers for them today. Their pain is far far greater than Lost Headphones from the Headphone Fairy pain is like.

    all my love, me

  4. Dear Elizabeth,
    Thank you in advance for the precious gift. By the way, blue is my favorite color! Surgery was quite unexpected but I am getting better every day. I know all the prayers sent my way helped a lot. Still can’t do much but look for the things that tell me I did more than the day before. Just the thought of you sending me a pair of your prayer socks makes me feel so special!
    Love You,
    Aunt Nan

  5. I really loved this post. You describe this topic very well. There are numerous people who take pleasure in making rosaries for numerous different reasons. People make hundreds of thousands of Mission Rosaries which are sent to missions and/or troops around the world. People purchase rosary materials for countless reasons: Baptisms, First Communion, Confirmation, Weddings, Easter, Christmas, Birthdays, Anniversaries, etc. There is a massive selection of Rosary making materials. It is a brilliant idea to engrave them to make personalized rosaries for cherished ones.

  6. Hugs. I re-read this post and you know why. Blessings on you! As I type I can see out my window a flicker… which I do *NOT* see very often. He’s looking for ants in our front yard. I’m sure he’s feasting. It’s such a blessing to watch this beautiful creature that I feel like your Auntie is enjoying her cashmere socks where cashmere never gets holes!

  7. Psalm 139 (New International Version)

    Psalm 139
    For the director of music. Of David. A psalm.
    1 O LORD, you have searched me
    and you know me.
    2 You know when I sit and when I rise;
    you perceive my thoughts from afar.

    3 You discern my going out and my lying down;
    you are familiar with all my ways.

    4 Before a word is on my tongue
    you know it completely, O LORD.

    5 You hem me in—behind and before;
    you have laid your hand upon me.

    6 Such knowledge is too wonderful for me,
    too lofty for me to attain.

    7 Where can I go from your Spirit?
    Where can I flee from your presence?

    8 If I go up to the heavens, you are there;
    if I make my bed in the depths, [a] you are there.

    9 If I rise on the wings of the dawn,
    if I settle on the far side of the sea,

    10 even there your hand will guide me,
    your right hand will hold me fast.

    11 If I say, “Surely the darkness will hide me
    and the light become night around me,”

    12 even the darkness will not be dark to you;
    the night will shine like the day,
    for darkness is as light to you.

    13 For you created my inmost being;
    you knit me together in my mother’s womb.

    14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
    your works are wonderful,
    I know that full well.

    15 My frame was not hidden from you
    when I was made in the secret place.
    When I was woven together in the depths of the earth,

    16 your eyes saw my unformed body.
    All the days ordained for me
    were written in your book
    before one of them came to be.

    17 How precious to [b] me are your thoughts, O God!
    How vast is the sum of them!

    18 Were I to count them,
    they would outnumber the grains of sand.
    When I awake,
    I am still with you.

    19 If only you would slay the wicked, O God!
    Away from me, you bloodthirsty men!

    20 They speak of you with evil intent;
    your adversaries misuse your name.

    21 Do I not hate those who hate you, O LORD,
    and abhor those who rise up against you?

    22 I have nothing but hatred for them;
    I count them my enemies.

    23 Search me, O God, and know my heart;
    test me and know my anxious thoughts.

    24 See if there is any offensive way in me,
    and lead me in the way everlasting.

    Footnotes:
    Psalm 139:8 Hebrew Sheol
    Psalm 139:17 Or concerning
    New International Version (NIV)
    Copyright © 1973, 1978, 1984 by Biblica

    I am praying for you– best, Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

