We are actually going. Really.

We are ALL going to Atlanta for Elementary Nationals for chess.  Danny and Brian are competing.  I am confident that nobody is going to come home with a trophy like Sam’s from last year, so we’re not even leaving space in the car.

Speaking of the car, I had some nifty knitting planned.  Dixon, Sam and Brian had planned and scheduled to go to the World Cup in South Africa this summer, until my cancer and its complications got in the way.

We’re going to do whatever we can to make it up to them, and we’ve even made sure that our lodgings at Suzuki institute have the right cable channel so they don’t have to miss the games on TV.  I think they’ll be able to go out of town (in the US 🙂 ) to go to an MLS game… I know it’s not the same thing, but considering the circumstances, it’s not too bad.

But anyway, Brian and I have been making these knitted world cup team finger puppet gloves… it’s been a fun project, and I’ve learned more about international soccer teams than I ever cared to know.

There’s only one problem – my specially fitted sleeves for my lymphedema aren’t keeping it under sufficient control, so we’re back to the big bandages.  And my knitting needles keep getting stuck in the gauze.  So I’ll have to find something else to do besides knit in the car and at the tournament,.

I think I’ll read… I have a new book that I can’t figure out how I haven’t read it before now.  Has that ever happened to you?  A friend introduces you to a true classic, and all you have to do is just read the prologue and you can’t believe you’ve gone 43 years without reading it?  My friend Caroline Amazoned me this book, and I even stayed up late last night to read a couple more chapters. 

So here’s my question of the day, as we’re on our way to Nationals in Atlanta: 

What’s the absolute best book you’ve ever read that you think most people have missed?

11 thoughts on “We are actually going. Really.

  1. Cs lewis SCREWTAPE LETTERS
    safe & happy travels i wish you
    You should take up crochet or tatting

  2. Five for Sorrow, Ten for Joy, also by Rumer Godden. It is a beautiful book! I would also recommend Mark Helprin’s fiction – The Pacific is a collection of short stories, A Soldier of the Great War is a novel. Have a wonderful trip, and though I lurk here, I pray for you always,
    Lisa
    ps In This House of Brede is one of my all time favorites – it made me realize that I could give my daughters over to a cloistered life and know that they could be living a very full and happy life…

  3. Hello Elizabeth,

    I read In This House of Brede in high school. It is excellent!

    I just finished a fascinating history book – The Edge of Empire – Lives, Culture and Conquest in the East, 1750 to 1850 by Maya Jasanoff. I know it sounds like it would be very dry but Maya weaves all the elements together into a compelling story.

    Take care! Hugs!!!

  4. I too am learning more sports than I ever expected- courtesy of our 10 year old sons. (I grew up when girls gym classes were 4 laps around the auditorium and some sit ups…) So far they are happy with focusing on the Yankees. I imagine soccer is down the road….
    I also read “In This House of Brede” and re read it! An all time favorite of mine is “And Ladies of the Club” by Helen Hoven Santmeyer. It is about the lives of women who finished their schooling in the 1860’s and continues for 50 years. It may be hard to find. The author published it in her 80’s!! while living in a nursing home!

  5. The Eliot Family trilogy by Elizabeth Goudge
    (Bird in the Tree, Pilgrims Inn and Heart of the Family)
    Actually I’ve enjoyed everything by Miss Goudge. Her most famous book was “Green Dolphin Street” which was made into a movie, but the book is much better.

    A word of caution about Rumer Godden’s “Five for Sorrow, Ten for Joy”. It is a book about prostitution. It is a good book, but not one you’d leave around the house and it’s definitely not for immature or sensitive souls. It doesn’t leave you with quite the uplifted feeling of “In This House of Brede.” There’s redemption, but more sordidness (not graphic like modern novels, but the majority of the story takes place on the prostitution side, than the convent side).

  6. I really liked Cold Sassy Tree by Olive….. someone. It was the only book she wrote and surpisingly delightful. (Not a classic, but a well-written book) 🙂

  7. I read ITHofB when I was 12, and then I read it again every year. I still read it every year. It is on my list of best books, but it was recently overtaken by War and Peace. I didn’t read W&P until I was 46, but it has had the same kind of transforming effect. Nice to know such a thing is still possible. Enjoy.

    Oh – and if you trip over the movie – it is nothing like the book, but enjoyable for other reasons.

  8. IN THIS HOUSE OF BREDE!!!!
    What a fantastic book!
    This is, actaully, the book that hit me over the head and said, “you have a vocation, get thee to a monastery!”

  9. I read ITHOB at age 46 for the first time. Wonderful!
    Have you ever read “Death Comes for the Archbishop” by Willa Cather?
    It is a beautiful book. I first read that one at age 45.
    Now, I am 47 and I wonder what treasures are in store for me this year?!

  10. Well, Till We Have Faces by CS Lewis is awesome. Truly fantastic. Also Man’s Search for Meaning by Victor Frankl is also incredible. It’s not fiction, but really a fantastic read.

    But why I really wanted to post: I cannot imagine not being able to knit. I would cry. I learned about 4 or 5 years ago and I take some with me everywhere. Could you cut off some finger tips of some gloves to put over the gauze? Like gardening gloves? Or maybe you could do larger projects on bamboo needles that don’t have as fine a point on them. I am thinking chunky yarn for a fun scarf, or a blanket (though that might get kind of heavy for your wrist).

    While I hope you enjoy the book I will pray for the ability to knit, as well!

  11. Kristin Lavransdatter, by Sigrid Undsett – FANTASTIC! a must read for every Catholic woman and no young woman should be allowed to leave her parent’s home without reading.

Leave a Reply

