Intersection, free yarn.

Remember Venn diagrams?  I always think it’s great when two or more of the circles that define things that are important to me intersect.  It actually happens often… perhaps since special needs children and cancer have forced me to downsize my life in so many ways, what’s left tends to go together, KWIM?

But here’s a fun one.  Homeschooling, books and fiber arts.  It’s obviously easy to find the intersections in any two of those subjects… but when all three overlap, it makes me happy.

Is this a math book or a knitting book?  Hmmm… check it out:

Any book that contains a paragraph like this one is sure to keep my attention:

“Part of the fun of topological manipulation is that there are so many geometric ways to achieve a particular topological construction.  To glue the antipodal points of a topological sphere, we may use any antipodally symmetric solid, and it is interesting to consider what happens when we begin with a regular solid other than a cube.”

But there’s more to homeschooling than math (much to Sam’s dismay 🙂 ) 

This is the neatest book!  It has projects that correlate with many classic children’s books.  One in particular is near and dear to my heart.  Perhaps a year ago, before a big surgery, Elizabeth Foss and Melissa Wiley teamed up to send me a few UNABRIDGED books. 

In addition to patterns for projects to go along with Redwall, Mary Poppins, Mr. Popper’s Penguins, The Secret Garden and more, Mrs. Gildersleeve has included two projects for Little House in the Highlands, by Melissa Wiley!

If you have a few minutes, go check out both Elizabeth’s blog and Melissa’s blog.  Elizabeth is a dear friend and a daily source of wisdom (and links to so many other valuable resources!) , and Melissa’s blog is an amazing fountain of books, ideas, insights into parenting special needs kids, and more.

But before you do that, go to the

310 hats blog  to check out progress on a service knitting project.

Friends of mine (in particular, Esther, of the comments….) are trying to make 310 hats for kindergarteners of the Choctaw Nation before school starts in the fall of 2010.  I have made four so far.  Here’s my most recent three:

Since as of 11:15 today I will be unable to knit or spin or anything for three weeks, it would be great if you all could make a few hats.  I’ll provide the yarn.  Send me your address and I’ll mail you three 100 gram skeins of 100 % superwash wool, in exchange for making at least one hat for the 310 hats project.  I can usually get a kindergarten sized hat out of one skein, with a bit leftover (which I use for stripes on subsequent hats) so you’d have two skeins left for a grownup hat or some mittens for yourself. 
Email your mailing address to:

esdehority@aol.com

and I’ll get your Moda Dea Superwash Wool yarn in the mail right away.   Free yarn is good, hats for kindergarteners are good, working together to help children with challenges is good…. I can’t think of Venn diagram sets that exactly fit, but I’ll work on it.  While I’m packing up yarn.

7 thoughts on “Intersection, free yarn.

  1. What a wonderfully generous thing for you to do, Elizabeth. Where there is a will there is a way and you have some of each – the will and the way. It almost makes me wish I were a knitter – tee hee!. I will pass along the information about the 310 hats project to my friends who are knitters however.

    I certainly hope the treatment makes a real difference in your arm.

  2. Teri, Crochet and sewing are fine, too! E1 (my big sister) isn’t picky. She’s the genesis of the project. As long as it’s warm, fits a kindergarten-aged student, and arrives by 8/2010, it works for me. “E2”

  3. Esther, The quilt shop where Elizabeth’s mom, Edda and I work, sponsors sew-in days where customers sew fleece hats and mittens for local schools to give to students in need. I will try to remember to copy a hat pattern or two, get some fleece and try to send some along for your project. We really do like supporting our local students, but the 310 hats project is a worthy cause as well. 🙂 tlc

  4. Elizabeth makes great hats! David wears his every day. Those kids are lucky (just like us). BTW, we’ve been reading The Five Little Peppers books — I bet Danny would love the stories. Check them out. (We read them for free on the internet app on my iPhone.)

  5. I am a beginning knitter, I can knit and purl, maybe one other stitch, can I make one with those stitches?
    Teresa
    You and your family really are inspiring.

  6. Would love to make a hat. Send me some yarn and pattern and address to return it. I can probably get a coworker or two to make one.

Leave a Reply

