I didn’t think tomorrow would happen.

Did you know I drove the boys to Michigan over the past couple of days? We got here late last night, and my sister just got back from picking Emily up at Interlochen (where she had an extraordinary amazing wonderful time, but that needs its own post with photos…)  We have lots of adventures planned (including a trip to Portland, OR for me…) and I hope I get to meet some of my blog friends here.

Anyway, tomorrow George and I get to drive up to Mount Pleasant, MI to see my 99 year old grandmother. Every time I see her I leave so sad, because I worry that she’s not going to make it till the next time I get to come to Michigan.

I last got to spend time with her exactly one year ago, at Uncle Joe’s house. My Aunt Mary Ellen hired a handicapped van and driver for the day to take her out there so we could be together and so that she could meet Baby George. I promise, as soon as we get back to NC, to post photos from that day… they’re great and happy and will make you smile, seeing my grandmother and my baby getting acquainted. It was so hard when she left that day. She cried when they put her in the van, so I cried, too.

Then, just one week later, we found out about the breast cancer. With all the surgeries and treatment and all, I haven’t been able to get back here. But as the time has grown closer, I’ve become more and more confident that I’ll get to spend time with her again.

Since that time is tomorrow, and she’s healthy and I’m well recovered from the 750 mile drive to get here, I’m sure that tomorrow’s actually going to happen.

Emily came back from camp with a bit of a cough, so I think I’ll take Sam with me, to help with George.  I think maybe I’ll wear my lymphedema bandages for the drive, but take them off before we go in… she always needs to find something to worry and fret about, but I don’t want it to be so obvious…   As long as George gets a bit of a nap in the car on the way up, I can expect him to be charming and adorable as usual 🙂 .   OK then.  It’s all planned.  Time to go to bed and get a good night sleep in preparation.

I think maybe I should bring my camera, too.

5 thoughts on “I didn’t think tomorrow would happen.

  1. Wow! What special times you’re going to have!

    Can’t wait to see the pictures …and the stories, too!

    Hugs!

  2. Hi Elizabeth,

    I’m so glad your trip went well and you were able to get to Mount Pleasant to see your grandmother. As one of the bloggers whom you have not met, I am truly looking forward to meeting you and your kids. You write so beautifully about each of them and yourself, I feel as if I know you, but it will be wonderful to actually be able to hug you.
    Love, Nancy

  3. What a year it has been! I’m so happy for you. I’m writing this on the 5th so I have spoilers of what you’ve done since writing this post.

Leave a Reply

