Is your Mama a Llama?

llama1

Several of my children and I were standing in the bathroom.  One boy who shall remain nameless told me to move over a little bit and look in the mirror.  It only took a moment for me to realize that the newly spun llama yarn hanging on the shower curtain rod drying was EXACTLY the same color as my new hair.

llama3

My newly growing hair is very short, somewhat curly, and matches the fleece of an old llama somewhere.  I think I liked longer, straighter and blonder better. 

Then it got worse:  “Nice yarn, honey.  Are you going to knit yourself a new wig?”

8 thoughts on “Is your Mama a Llama?

  1. Too funny! That remark reminds me…have you been watching QVC lately?
    I do know though, if anyone could knit a wig it would be YOU!!

    Hugs!

  2. Do tell! Which son deserves a love pat on the keester!

    I’m grateful that you have hair. No more grocery clerks calling you “SIR”.

    You have five kids in your house. That dark hair will be plenty “blonde-ish” soon enough!!!!

  3. Llamas are charming creatures – take it as a compliment (plus they have lovely eyelashes!!). At least it wasn’t yak hair …..

  4. Which son calls you “honey”??? Or did that comment from come another not to be named person? Nancy

  5. Hi Elizabeth,
    I so enjoy your blog…I linked to it some time ago through Elizabeth Foss. I’ve been praying for you ever since. I need your advice if you have time (sorry I couldn’t find an e-mail link to send this privately). I was just diagnosed with rheumatoid arthritis and, sadly, also have to wean my 6 mo old from breast to formula because i’ll be taking a drug that can pass through the breast milk. I thought about trying to live with the pain until he’s a bit older but it’s so hard to care for 5 children when dealing with LOTS of pain in every joint. How did you get your little one weaned? My son won’t take more than a few drops before he turns his head away and cries. My husband and older children are giving him the bottle, not me. It just breaks my heart. I’ve never bottle-fed any of my children so this is very new territory. How long did it take you/your baby to make the transition and how’s it going now? Thank you so much and I will continue to pray for you.
    God Bless, Kelly B.

  6. You always have the option of buying blond straight hair. I’m sure your hairdresser would be more than happy to assist you – tee hee! The dark and curly will make you look more like your sister. Most women seem to buy curly hair more than straight….

    I agree with Esther – it will be blondish soon enough! Be careful what you wish for. I think the men in your bathroom were very creative in their thinking – even if they have no names.

Leave a Reply

