The Cooler Fairy

The very hardest part of this whole cancer experience has been my inability to take care of my children the way I want to.  Sickness, pain, being in the hospital, fatigue, whatever… I always feel like my babies deserve the very best, 100 % “there for them all the time” mothering. 

In so many ways, my friends have filled in for me when I couldn’t be there for my children.   I can’t begin to list the efforts they’ve made on my behalf.  But today we need to talk about the cooler fairy again.  Last fall, right around the time of my first surgery, Abigail assembled the most amazing team of folks who have been taking care of my family. 

lastday

Except for a week or two here and there between chemotherapy and radiation, these magical folks have put a wonderful meal in the cooler for our family every night.  When I was too sick to cook, hurting too much to get to the kitchen, or too immunosuppressed to go to the grocery store, supper was there.  No matter what. 

And such wonderful food!  You know, I tend to make just regular stuff for my family.  Perfectly nutritious and all, but rather ordinary.  The cooler fairy wasn’t ever ordinary.   There were many days that the kids and I were overwhelmed by the amazing bounty given to us.

So this afternoon while I was waiting at Danny’s swimming lesson I looked at today’s Mass readings in my Magnificat.  Have you ever noticed how often the daily readings just seem to fit on just the right day?  Today is the very last day of the blessings of the cooler fairy, and here’s the first reading (2 Cor 9)

Brothers and sisters, consider this:
whoever sows sparingly will also reap sparingly,
and whoever sows bountifully will also reap bountifully.
Each must do as already determined, without sadness or compulsion,
for God loves a cheerful giver.
Moreover, God is able to make every grace abundant for you,
so that in all things, always having all you need,
you may have an abundance for every good work.
As it is written:

He scatters abroad, he gives to the poor;
his righteousness endures forever.

The one who supplies seed to the sower and bread for food
will supply and multiply your seed
and increase the harvest of your righteousness.

You are being enriched in every way for all generosity,
which through us produces thanksgiving to God.

So I guess it’s not just the DeHority family who appreciates you, it’s God, too.  We are grateful beyond words for the gifts you have given us. 

lastday2

4 thoughts on “The Cooler Fairy

  1. I want to say thank you to the Cooler Fairy too! Just remember you have to be pretty special to have such wonderful friends!

    Oh, and thank you for such special glimpses of that special family of yours…sweet dreams George!

    Hugs!

  2. Perfect reading for a perfect set of friends you have!!! Ohhh – and George is DEF perfect as well! 🙂 Many thanks to the cooler fairy from me as well!
    Hugs and hopes for a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

