What a way to wake up!

mybirthday1

I woke up and went into the kitchen this morning and found this cake.  And four pans, four spatulas, lots of plates…. Turns out that Sam and Emily made it for me late last night, and beat it by hand so that the sound of the mixer wouldn’t wake me… They walked to the store yesterday and bought a Wonderwoman coloring book 🙂  I won’t tell you what Sam says their finished creation looks like.

mybirthday2

Then George made me smile.  He’s been TRYING SO HARD to accomplish this one thing for so long.  Can you guess what it is?

mybirthday3

Victory!  George finally managed to move fast enough to snag Danny’s oxygen.  He’s been trying for months… although I think perhaps Danny cooperated, just to make his brother happy  🙂 .

mybirthday4

Thanks for the birthday cards, the emails and all the good wishes. 

Love, Elizabeth

7 thoughts on “What a way to wake up!

  1. HAPPY BIRTHDAY, Elizabeth!!! How creative Sam and Emily are! And George looks very pleased with himself. Have a wonderful day!

  2. Dear Elizabeth ~

    Happy Birthday! I LOVE the cake and think you are the original Wonder Woman. It was so thoughtful of Emily and Sam and I can just imagine Sam coming up with some “clever zingers” about the end result. I love your photos – George’s gleeful grin is priceless and he looks so proud of himself. Danny appears to be leaning forward just enough (ever the indulgent older brother?) to help George grab the oxygen. Continue to be gentle with yourself and rest…rest…rest…

    Love and prayers ~
    Jan

  3. Happy Birthday Elizabeth! I love the cake. Good job Emily and Sam! George is so cute, I’m glad he finally accomplished grabbing Danny’s oxygen! Have a great day!

  4. I have only just found your blog and the more I read the more I want to read. Best wishes for a happy birthday… I know you are going through a rough time, and the picture of your littlest ones makes me feel happy that you are surrounded by a happy and loving bunch of kids. Adriana (from Melbourne, Austr)

  5. Hope you had a WONDERFUL birthday! What a cool cake! You are a WONDER WOMAN! Can’t thinkof a better cake topper! HUGS!

  6. Happy Birthday, Elizabeth!
    With a “Wonder Woman cake made by the most creative kids ever…two brothers working “together” to accomplish a goal…I know your day was special!!
    Love and prayers

Leave a Reply

