Hey! I can knit!

While planning for these surgeries, I had sort of figured that since the surgeons were going to disrupt (i.e. carve off…) so much muscle and fascia near my right shoulder in the process of doing the mastectomy and searching for lymph nodes that my whole arm was going to be out of commission for six weeks or so. 

icanknit

Not!!

As long as my ice packs are in place and I’m willing to work a little left of midline so that I don’t have to rotate my arm, I can knit.  Slowly.  I think all the pain pills really interfere with my coordination.  Good thing I’m not allowed to drive 🙂 .

On the other hand (with the other hand?  with neither hand?) I can’t hold George.  Not only can’t I pick him up, I can’t snuggle with him, since there’s no way to explain to him that he’d have to stay absolutely still.  Healthy, busy, active, strong one year olds just aren’t good at staying absolutely still, so I’m OK with that.

I see one surgeon this afternoon, one tomorrow.  I don’t think anything interesting is going to happen at either appointment, which is good.  But speaking of interesting, I need to put up the photos of the operating room.  That will have to wait until tomorrow, though.  Today I have to knit just a little bit more then take my nap.

18 thoughts on “Hey! I can knit!

  1. Elizabeth I’m very impressed that you can knit a pattern with all the brain fogging pain killers that prevent you driving. At least it looks like a pattern so if it isn’t, don’t tell anyone!!
    I’m picking up Emily after school tomorrow with Lili and taking her over to Jessica’s – since teenagers often don’t tell one anything, I thought you might like confirmation from me that I’m on board with this. 🙂
    Keep getting stronger and rest up.
    Cx

  2. If this picture makes me smile then I KNOW you have got to be happy…
    your hands are “busy”!

    Just keep taking it easy “Superwoman”!

    Love from another one of your Moms!

  3. WOW, ELIZABETH!!! i am in awe. so glad you are feeling well enough to do something you enjoy. i’m sorry you don’t get to hold george though. 😦 as always you remain in our prayers and we hold you and your family in our hearts. love, rowena___.

  4. Fantastic! I’m so happy for you. I’ve always wanted to learn how to knit. I’ve learned how to crochet, but knitting is high on my “learn to-do” list. As always, may God bless you. 🙂

    • Kelly, if you can crochet, you can knit. Look up “Continental style knitting”. The hand movements are very similar to single crochet. Knittinghelp dot com will have a video and you can go see what I mean. If you can single crochet, you can knit. Believe me. Esther

  5. When I learn to knit socks, I want to make some from that yarn! Love it!

    How is the weather now that your parents are there? I’ll be there the end of next week to see my son and daughter-in-law so can you order up some nice weather then? Your Mom was supposed to find out the name of the bakery that is near John’s house so I can go there. There was something that Sam really liked from them. 🙂 Could you remind her?

    Was Sam the photographer for today’s photo? Nice job! I’m glad you can do something that you enjoy as you are healing. Maybe you could snuggle a little with George when he is very sleepy. Grandma or Grandpa can snuggle him during his more active times.

  6. I’m tickled pink that you can knit! Love those little blessings. Sorry you cannot snuggle George. My 10 yo Elizabeth and I offered some special prayers for you earlier today.

  7. Amazing that you can do DPNs. ice packs or no, DPNs floor me. 🙂
    Glad u can knit. It’s wonderful prayerful therapy for you in so many ways.
    I’m working on a sweater. Should be working on a *DIFFERENT* sweater that’s due in June, if you know what I mean!!! 😉 !

  8. Hooray for you! Glad to see you can do something you enjoy to pass the time while you are healing. We’re thinking of you.

  9. Dear Elizabeth ~

    I love serendipity! What a wonderful gift that you are able to knit while you heal – I think the knitting will speed your recovery. So sorry that you can’t hold George; but, I do like Teri’s suggestion about cuddling when he is sleepy. Rest up, be gentle with yourself, and don’t overdo on the knitting (in your mind, I’m sure that’s not possible!!!). So glad to hear the happiness in your writing.

    Love and prayers ~
    Jan

  10. You constantly amaze me! Hey, speaking of knitting. Add baby booties to your list, I find out in a few weeks what I am having 🙂 XXOO Courtnye

  11. Elizabeth, I just want to say how much I enjoy your site. You have the cutest children and so talented! Midge gave me your site and I try to keep up on your latest news. I am praying that all goes well with your surgeries. I just wanted to let you know you’re in my thoughts and prayers. Midge emailed me to say she and Pat were on the way to lend a hand. I can’t think of anything better to help you recuperate. Glad to see you are able to knit again. That brought a smile to my face.

    Positive thoughts,prayers, and hugs coming your way,
    Aunt Nan

  12. I am so happy that you are able to knit!!! That is wonderful! I wish that I knew how to knit. My grandma tried to teach me to crochet a couple of times, but I think I was a lost cause. Anyway, I’m glad you are able to do something that makes you smile! Take care! Many prayers!

    Lesa

  13. Elizabeth, I feel very small as I write this.. but I keep clinging to the hope that it was the shawl I knit you took to the hospital, because I wish to have provided you some tangible comfort. Prayers are still being offered, of course.

  14. Elizabeth….soo glad you are home again….even though you are in such pain…..everyone is happy to have you back. I will be leaving on Saturday morning with Jim for a week in Italy. I will have to catch up on your blog when I return. By then, you will be much better. Grandma is doing remarkably well. She looks good and is in good spirits. I think of you every day and wish I could hold George!

  15. It’s good you can do something “normal.” I’m sure your children were glad to see you knitting. When I had my surgery the kids were glad when we would just talk or laugh together at something on TV. They watched me a lot to find “normal.”

  16. Elizabeth, I have had you on my mind so much and have taken you with me to Mass and Adoration. You are amazing!! I know you are glad to be home. I will continue to pray for you and your strength!

Leave a Reply

