The day before Mother’s Day

Tomorrow’s blog is for my mom and my grandmother… plus my kids’ godmothers if I have the energy.  But today is about somebody who helps Mother’s Day happen for ME.

drb

That’s me, George, and our dear friend Maureen.  She has taken care of me through eight pregnancies and delivered five babies (the only one she missed was Danny…) so she’s a big part of how I’ve come into my vocation of motherhood. 

Maureen has been right there beside us through this breast cancer journey, too.  When my very first biopsies came back positive (13 out of 13 chunks they took out) she left her office and drove over here to tell me so that I’d not learn this bad news alone. 

drb3

Then to top it all off she’s part of the cooler fairy brigade… so yesterday when the kids were finishing off her tomatoes with basil and mozzarella and right before George finished the cream cheese frosting on his carrot cake cupcake that she’d made, one of them grinned at me and said, “Hey mom, Dr. B. delivers babies AND food!”

drb4

You’d think with the complicated pregnancies and high-maintenance deliveries she’s worked so hard through she’d be relieved to see my childbearing drawing to a close, but instead she just keeps on supporting my motherhood.  She sent me this today:

http://news.cnnbcvideo.com/?nid=RCqBOCO7ZDyegrPkqWSK6zEyNzU0NDQ3&referred_by=8270849-gOb2Oox&p=moveon

Maureen, thanks for the laughs, and the babies, and the Tex Mex casserole, and just for being there for us through everything.  See you Tuesday!

4 thoughts on “The day before Mother’s Day

  1. I don’t know who’s more amazing… you or your medical staff! Thanks to Maureen for taking such good care of you and our thoughts and prayers will definitely be with her as well Tuesday!

    What a sweet picture of George…gotta love that precious face!

    Lots of love, hugs and prayers coming your way!

  2. Ohhh – I don’t even know this Maureen, but she sounds MOST WONDERFUL!!!!! You are blessed not only with a wonderful family, but also a awesome caring medical team! 🙂

    Love and special prayers today!

  3. The video is right:

    Pulling your hair back into a ponytail is NOT the same as taking a shower.

    It’s BETTER and FASTER than taking a shower!!!

    It’s also right that you give 52 hours of every day to people other than yourself.

    So there!

    From the Troll in RI, me

  4. Dear Elizabeth ~

    Maureen is one in a million. Pregnancy care, delivery, supportive friend, cooler fairy…she does it all. How lucky you are to have her in your life. Love the picture of George and the concentration you captured on his face.

    Happy Mother’s Day!

    Love and prayers ~
    Jan

Leave a Reply

