The consequences of laziness

Cancer and chemotherapy and radiation and surgeries can make totally minor life activities into far more significant events than they deserve to be. 

Yesterday, on the way home from the orthodontist with Emily, I needed to stop and get some money for Sam to take to Scouts for his upcoming camping trip.  However, feeling tired and more than a little lazy, I decided to go four blocks out of my way to get to the drive through ATM.  I just didn’t feel like getting in and out of the car and standing up to use the money machine. 

So I drove up to the ATM, pulled up nice and close, opened the window and reached out with my left arm to put my card in.  Bad mistake.  Under my left arm is where the worst of the burns are and when I stretched out to reach the machine, my skin split.  For a minute I was thinking that I had even heard it happen, but there’s no way it could have been audible…

By then I was stuck.  I was too close to the machine to open the door.  There was a car behind me, so I couldn’t back up, and the way that driveway is engineered, Emily couldn’t have gotten out on her side either.  So I kept my arm out there, hurting just about as much as anything can hurt, finished my transaction and managed to make it home.  It’s better this morning, but I’ve kept my arm tight by my side so far today.  Last night every time every time I moved it I could feel the split open up again.  Radiation is going to be awful, since I have to have my arms up over my head.

Next time I’m going to park my van, get out and walk to the machine.  No more drive through fast food, either.  I’ve learned the consequences of laziness.

14 thoughts on “The consequences of laziness

  1. Dear Elizabeth ~

    Oh, my goodness. OUCH! I am so sorry that you are in this predicament; it will definitely make your next radiation treatment a challenging experience. I can’t imagine how painful this must be, and not just physically. Perhaps using an arm splint will help immobilize your arm so the tear can start healing…using silvadene might help the radiation burns…please let the cooler fairies work their magic to relieve you of kitchen duties.

    Love and prayers ~
    Jan

  2. Oh ouch, ouch, ouch! I’m so sorry this happened. And it wasn’t lazy at all–it made perfect sense to go to the drive through. I’m the lazy one. I sit the car and make my big kids run into the bank, post office and such.

    May the Good Lord send a soothing balm for your pain.

    Continued love and prayers,
    Annie

  3. I agree…OUCH! I really don’t call that laziness, I would say more- “time management”- lazy is not really a word associated with Elizabeth!

    Hopefully Jan’s ideas might bring relief. Just please take care and I’m not really sure how we’re going to keep you out of “trouble”…got to think about that awhile.

    Thinking of you!

  4. Dear Elizabeth ~

    I meant to say arm “sling” and not arm “splint.” Sheesh…teachers should never give advice to doctors. Mea culpa!

    Love,
    Jan

  5. Oh, I’m crying again.
    That wasn’t laziness, that was pragmatism.
    And it’s totally unfair that a good solution to a problem turned into a nightmare.
    I’m so sorry.
    How I wish I could words and prayers would feel sufficient. 😦

  6. Laziness? Sounds more like energy conservation to me, which is a very smart strategy. Oh I HOPE your skin feels a little better tonight and that the healing process has started. Praying for strength and courage. Be gentle with yourself and accept as much help as possible right now.

  7. Oh Elizabeth! I am so sorry! I will pray for a quick healing for the skin there for your comfort.

    I dreamed of holding a sweet little boy just like your little guy the other day. What a cutie he is!! God’s miracle can happen!
    Emily

  8. Oh my I’m so sorry that happened! Definitely not laziness though!! I hope you are feeling better today.

    I wanted to say thank you for the beautiful socks you made me –they are wonderful!

  9. Ouch, ouch, ouch! Hang in there. I didn’t have to do radiation…at least not yet. I finished chemo in December…I’m finally getting my hair back!
    I will keep you in my prayers.

  10. Please don’t be so hard on yourself. You need to conserve energy for the important things, so it was a good idea gone awry. Now that you’ve discovered that it will drain you more to use the drive through, it will be an equally wise decision to avoid it.

  11. May God be with you, precious Elizabeth.

    Psalm 17:8
    Keep me as the apple of the eye;Hide me in the shadow of Your wings

    Psalm 91:1
    [ Security of the One Who Trusts in the LORD. ] He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High Will abide in the shadow of the Almighty.

Leave a Reply

