A few photos of Rowena and Ella

If you read the comments, Rowena’s name should be familiar to you… and we got to spend some time with her when we were in Nashville for the chess tournament.  Last time Danny and her daughter, Ella (who is exactly the same age as he is), got to visit was when he and I were on our way to the Mayo Clinic while I was pregnant with George. 

rowena2

Rowena has a seriously cool job.  Besides being a homeschooling mama, she works for a company that makes sewing pattern design software.  The general concept of this software is that you decide what you want to make, enter your measurements (or your baby’s measurements 🙂 ) and just like magic you can print out a perfect sewing pattern from your computer.  Rowena’s area of expertise (actually one of many) is costumes… theatrical and historical costumes… So being able to be a costumer and a computer person all combined in one job seems pretty nifty, don’t you think?

rowena3

Most of the photos with Rowena and me in them didn’t turn out very well, but all of our mutual friends would never forgive me if I didn’t post at least one with the two of us together. 

rowena1

Speaking of mutual friends, one of them MADE the most darling pair of shoes for George, and tomorrow I promise to take a picture of them and show you.  But now I’m going to bed.  Radiation is really taking its toll on me.  I am seriously considering calling Abigail tomorrow to have the cooler fairy start doing her magic again.  I really assumed I was going to be able to handle everything independently until my next surgery, but maybe I was overconfident.  I just figured if I tried hard enough…

14 thoughts on “A few photos of Rowena and Ella

  1. Love the pictures…Danny’s expressions are priceless!

    I think you might be trying too hard, “Miss Independent”. When all this is behind you, I am sure you will be there for a friend in need.

    Just try and breathe in all the love we’re sending and let those around you join in your journey.

    Hugs and prayers!
    (Don’t forget to call Abigail!)

  2. well, elizabeth, you HAVE tried hard enough–harder than enough–and now it is time to take a break.

    thank you for sharing the pictures! i have some good ones of us together, i will post them at my ella echo blog this weekend.

    i am so blessed to have you in my life, even at long distance. much love to you, friend.

  3. As usual, Ms Harriet always knows exactly what to say! Isn’t she wonderful?!?!?!?!? When you feel better, we will have to con Ms Harriet into some back in the day brownies …or cake ..or ….. you could choose?!?!?

    Hope you have a restful weekend and get some yummy cooler fairy nourishment soon!

    Love and prayers to you and your wonderful family!

  4. Hi Elizabeth,

    There is no doubt in my mind you have tried hard enough. Let the cooler fairies resume giving their wonderful gifts of food, and you get the rest you need.

    The pictures are wondeful. Is that a dimple I see on Danny? And, yes, Rowena does have a really cool job.

    Prayers and blessings, Nancy

  5. Sounds like it was a good visit! I enjoyed reading the rest of your blog. You are amazing! I’m glad you’re finding time for spinning and friends … and resting!

  6. Looks like you had a great visit.

    Phone for the cooler fairy… you`re doing a great job, but enjoy the wonderful gift and get some rest…

  7. The first photo cracks me up. Not only because George has such a tight grasp on sweet Ella’s cheek, but also because of the location. That’s *INSIDE* the hotel, isn’t it? To a casual glance, it looks like you’re on a sunny city street with a fresh sidewalk job. But I believe you are truly INSIDE the hotel. (I’ve been there once. Oh, it was 1988 or 1987, I think. Can’t quite recall. Would take me some serious work to figure it out.)

  8. I agree that the cooler fairy should be restarted, we loved meeting Rowena and her beautiful daughter Ella, and seeing the photos of the kids and the two of you together.

    The cooler fairy will move to another household soon enough, so enjoy it while you have it. If it lets you eat dinner with your family instead of tiring yourself out by making the dinner – hands down, the cooler fairy wins!

    Rowena, your job sounds awesome! Does the company also design clothes for today individually? What you do is way cool!

  9. esther, if you were there in 1988, you didn’t see that part of the hotel, i think that section was opened in the early 90’s. there is a RIVER in there, people. with BOATS. it is seriously cool and vain and magnificent and self-congratulatory, all at the same time.

    i do have a cool job–i am the MAMA of ella. 🙂 the patternmaking stuff is also fun. i have the nursing mother’s sewing list to thank for launching me so successfully on both paths.

  10. Seems like I remember the hotel rooms having those balconies and plants. That was the “give away” hint for my poor not-what-it-once-was memory. Did they keep the same style of architecture and design when they added the new part in the 90s? When I was there in 1988, I also got to go to Opryland. We had awesome seats. I think we also went to a wax museum. Oh, those were the days. We had about 20 college kids sharing a 4 person room. Long before I learned about the dangers of violating fire codes.
    Glad to know one person cares about my adventures in Nashville more than 20 years ago!!!! (Gosh, I can’t believe it has been so long.)

  11. esther, this addition is a lot like the other, except bigger, with city streets, and a river. 😀 please come back and visit so i can hug YOU in person too.

    elizabeth, i posted a few pictures on my other blog, i thought i had more of us together but i think when ella was taking them she got distracted by the big walking bear. LOL

  12. Oh what beautiful photos! Take the time to rest. I love the concept of the cooler fairy–but my poor addled brain always imagines an air conditioner (in our parts it is a swamp cooler) and I have to correct my imagination. I imagine your poor burns exposed to a cooler–I pray that type of cooler fairy visits as well–something to cool your pain and refresh you.

Leave a Reply

