Sometimes it all seems like a lot.

Sometimes it seems like there’s a lot on my plate… I read about the concept of “margin” and I’ve decided I don’t have any.  There are times when it’s worse than usual, and this seems to be one.

I think that of the couple of hours I’ve been home today (between my time at radiation and my time at the cancer rehab center) I’ve spent 90 % of it on the phone, and most of that trying to load or unload the dishwasher, fold laundry or feed George at the same time.  The big task today has been the administrative work for two surgeries, one for me and one for George. 

Did I ever tell you that our medical insurance company says that we do NOT have a son named George?  They say that we have a daughter (born on George’s birthday) named Meliza.  They will pay claims for Meliza DeHority, but not for George DeHority.  I have been fighting this for more than a year.  Again today, they told me that the only way I can get it fixed it to send them documentation of legally changing HER name to George.  They have no use for his birth certificate, since “it wouldn’t contain HER FORMER name”  (i.e. Meliza)  ARRGGHHHH!  I really wanted to get this fixed once and for all before his surgery.

So anyway, Monday George is getting his ears worked on.  They may take his adenoids out, too.  The radiation techs were actually pretty nice about rescheduling my appointment time for my treatment that day.  George and I have to arrive at the outpatient surgery place at 7:30 (nothing to eat or drink after midnight) for his case to begin at 9:30.   We are really hoping that they can get things fixed so that he can hear better. 

And my own surgery is now officially on the books for May 12.  Actually, it’s two surgeries… the mastectomy, with sentinal node biopsies, and a hysterectomy and oophorectomy.  (I know that’s four things, but it’s two surgeries, two surgeons, one anesthesia and one hospital stay….)  Both surgeons were very accomodating about my schedule; I told them that I absolutely could not have it done until after First Holy Communion for my 19 students, which is on May 9th, and they were fine with that.

But meanwhile, life goes on.  Appointments, radiation, therapy for two boys, soccer, trying to unpack, teenage crises, more soccer, more appointments, changing out winter clothes, trying to find a lost ipod, calling the tube feeding supply place to have them pick up an entire box of the wrong equipment sent in error, more soccer, and probably by now it’s time for radiation therapy again!

I took a moment away from adminstrative duties on the phone to go through the mail, though, and I found a treat.  Nancy, who comments often and eloquently, has started knitting and sent me a present!  She says it’s a dishcloth, but I think it’s too nice for that so it’s going to be a facecloth instead.  It’s a lovely monochromatic pattern… I guess I’d call it a basketweave variation, but there must be a formal name for it in the stitch dictionaries?  I think my first ten projects were plain garter stitch, so I’m impressed.  Nancy, you made my day, and for that I am very grateful.

Now it’s time to take somebody to soccer.

7 thoughts on “Sometimes it all seems like a lot.

  1. Dear Elizabeth,

    You have made my day. I wanted you to have something that would let you know how important you have become to me. Does a dishcloth/ facecloth qualify? I hope so.
    So who is this mystery child whose name is on your insurance records? It made me smile when you said that the birth certificate didn’t make any difference because it didn’t reference he name change. Do they think George also had a sex change??? Having to deal with the bureaucracyat this point is a hassle you definitely don’t need. I’m sorry.
    Good to know that doctors understand the importance of receiving First Communion and your need to be present. You impact lives on so many levels. You are a wonder.

    Love, Nancy

  2. Hi Elizabeth,

    I tripped over here from the rostitchery blog and wanted to say thank you for sharing your journey, the painful and profound, the joyous, and the mundane.

    You clearly have so many talents and it makes the world a better place because you share them with your family, friends, and blogger-world.

    I laughed a bit at your humorous take on reframing “being cooked” as now being at the beach surrounded by tropical rainforest flowers.

    So I wondered if these resources might help to complete the full visualization toward your full health and well-being. http://healthjourneys.com/Product_Detail.aspx?id=115

    Perhaps you are already aware of that resource. My doula first introduced me to Belleruth’s beautiful guided imagery meditations for childbirth and labor. Now I turn to her other imagery resources when there are health needs in my family.

    Anyway, I’m sending you thoughts of comfort, healing, and peace from my visualized land of tropical paradise in an otherwise snowy michigan.

  3. You do realize that you are dealing with a LOT, don’t you? The insurance story reminds me of when you were dealing with Danny’s therapy at first…where do they get their information?

    I just read your words and am in awe of how you handle it all, and most of the time am at a loss for words of advice… but hope you know I think and pray for you and that active family of yours!

    Give Meliza…I mean GEORGE an extra hug for me! Good luck with the teen crisis…all that really involves is “listening” (most of the time) and of course hugs!

    Hugs for you too!

  4. If only you could find the *OTHER* family, who have a daughter named Meliza and are ALSO battling with your insurance company, trying to convince them that they do NOT have a son named George. If you were to find them, maybe you could all chain yourselves to the front gate of the insurance company and refuse to move until they just go change the fields in the rassin’-frassin’ computers!!!!

  5. I have a busy hectic schedule with every night planned in detail an d many kids activities overlapping. I often feel run down from it. While reading your post it hit me that all my activities are of the joyful nature. From now on when I’m feeling run down and overwhelmed, I will offer it up for you, your recovery and your beautiful family. Thank you!

  6. Elizabeth,
    I often feel like my plate is overfull too. I have three little ones, ages 5, 3, and 1. My 5-year-old has autism and our lives revolve around that. But when I read what you are dealing with I look at what I’m dealing with that day on a different level. Thank you for that! I keep you in my prayers.

    And…I’m sorry but I had to laugh about your “daughter” Meliza. That should be on a television show somewhere. It’s a classic. It’s just not as funny when you’ve got as much to deal with as YOU do. Someone with nothing else on their plate should have gotten that one!

    ~Tamie

Leave a Reply

