Sunshine

soccer4

I missed the whole fall soccer season due to my biopsies and surgery.  I missed all of basketball season because of chemotherapy.  Finally, now it’s soccer season again!  Brian’s games are usually so far away that I don’t get to go, but Sam had a game today close by, and it was SOOOOO nice to sit out in the sunshine with my friends. 

Here’s basically how the game went:

soccer31

See the red arrow?  It points to Sam’s friend JP.  JP was the goalie.  This picture was taken right during the middle of the game.  Notice that there’s nobody else on that whole end of the field?  That’s how the game went most of the time.  Guess that’s why we won.  I managed to get only one picture of the ball (and JP and Sam) down by their goal the entire game:

soccer2

It was actually kind of boring, from a soccer point of view.  So I took a picture of JP’s mom’s socks.

soccer1

These socks have been blogged before… I made them for her right before she went on her most recent medical mission trip to India.  ( https://keeponspinning.wordpress.com/2009/01/08/distracted-by-the-baby-in-the-mirror/  ) 

The best part of the whole thing, though, was sitting out in the sun.  Sunshine is definitely good for my mental health.  I was briefly tempted to take off my hat and soak up some rays with my bald head, but I thought better of it after I realized that getting a sunburn on my scalp that matches the radiation burns on my chest would NOT be good for my mental health 🙂 ! 

So, one soccer victory, one reunion with old socks, one afternoon in the sun, one happy mama.  Makes for a good day.

5 thoughts on “Sunshine

  1. Elizabeth,

    Your day sounds lovely! I always enjoy your beautiful photos, be they of your children, paper chains, or people’s feet with your socks on. 🙂 I continue to pray for you.

  2. LOVE IT! Glad you had a good day! Thanks for the updates! Like Edda said, you remain in our prayers and thoughts daily! Often many times 🙂 🙂

  3. Dear Elizabeth ~

    Hooray for balmy weather and spring sunshine! I am so happy for you – son, soccer, socks, and sunshine made for a beautiful and memorable day.

    Hugs and prayers from Kalamazoo.

    Love,
    Jan

  4. Love the pictures…always have! Gotta love the sunshine and being outside.

    Thanks for all your inspiration!
    You really are special and always in my thoughts and prayers.

Leave a Reply

