Not just Sunday School

In retrospect, maybe it was a mistake to be out and about so much this past weekend.  I’m paying the price this week; I’m just so tired.  But sometimes it feels like the only places I go are doctors’ offices and hospitals and the only people I see are injecting things into me or cutting things out of me.   Once in a while I just want to spend some time with my friends!

So right on the heels of that last weekend’s knitting adventure, I went all out, literally and figuratively.  Besides Sunday School, the other big event was the state scholastic chess championship.

chess11

See all those trophies?  None of my children won one 🙂  But their friends sure did!  Brian’s first match was against the kid who won one of those huge trophies in the back… it’s hard to start a tournament by playing the guy who we all know will be state champion in their division, but Brian (and the other kid) both have good sportsmanship, and aren’t going to let a chess game get in the way of their friendship.

chess3

It was Danny’s first tournament ever.  I feel kind of bad that he’s had to miss all the easier tournaments all through the year, but there’s no way we could have managed.  I mean, really, the number of germy kids, the amount of walking, the long days… it’s just not something that a person can do right after surgery or in the middle of chemotherapy.  My friends have all taken turns watching out for the big kids during the other tournaments, but Danny’s a little much to hand off to another mom, KWIM?

chess4

He had a great time, though.  He’s been hauled to innumerable chess events since he was about 5 months old.  He’s been to 6 national tournaments.  So it’s about time that he actually gets to play!  He had an extra chess lesson with his favorite coach last week to work on his end game, and even though he didn’t win a single match, he had a wonderful weekend.

chess6

Here he is showing off his notation from his final match.  He lasted 49 moves and survived check 9 times before they ended up in a draw.  I was so happy that he was proud of himself instead of being disappointed.  For a 5 year old in his first tournament, competing against kids from all over the state, he did just fine.

Were you wondering where the pictures of Sam and Emily are?  They missed chess for Odyssey of the Mind.  They get to go to Nationals for chess anyway, so they weren’t too sad.  I don’t have pictures of OM yet, since I just can’t figure out how to get them out of the other computer into this one, but when I have them, I’ll share, I promise.  I saw their final run-through, and it was great. 

So anyway, it was a busy weekend, but loads of fun.  Now that radiation has started for real, maybe I need to plan to take it easy again… not one of my best skills, but I’m working on it.

Love, Elizabeth

6 thoughts on “Not just Sunday School

  1. Wow – look at Danny! That is great! Thank you for the update! I hope you can get some rest and have a good week!!!

  2. I love the picture of Brian…that is concentration! Danny is always just pure joy… as I’ve said before…your pictures capture their personalities!

    I’m thinking it would be a good idea to take a weekend to rest, so we can catch up with YOU! Honestly, you really need to quit showing us up!!

    Hugs and prayers coming your way.

  3. Hi Elizabeth,
    congrats to Danny on his first tounament, and Sam and Emily good luck in OM. My prayers are with you and your family!
    What great pictures.
    Love
    Joanie

  4. I continue to be amazed at your strength! I really admire you!!

    Courtney DeTemple

    PS Way to go Danny!!!

Leave a Reply

