One quick picture for Michelle

I am overwhelmed with the wisdom, the prayers, the caring… from new friends, from people I’ve never even met, and from old friends who have taken the time to reconnect through my blog.  Someday I’ll have the time and energy to write to EVERYBODY to express my gratitude.  I hope it’s soon… radiation makes some people really tired, but other people seem to breeze through it.  I hope I’m in the second group.

I truly believe that it was through the intercessions of so many people that

  •  my last surgery was a success
  • my biopsy report showed no new cancer
  • I’ve been able to deal with all the prep for radiation
  • We’ve coped (sort of 🙂 ) with Danny’s illness this week
  • I was recovered enough from my last chemo to be able to go out of town over the weekend.

 and many of those families were praying because of the blog button that Michelle Q. designed and Elizabeth F. shared. 

At my knitting retreat, nobody minded if I knit during lectures.  And knit during lunch.  And knit during happy hour.  So I knit a LOT.  Michelle’s thank you socks are almost done, I just have to kitchener the toes:

michelles-sock-kitchener

It would be so cool if I could make a pair of socks for everybody who has shared their wisdom, prayers and friendship through their comments on my blog.  Since that’s obviously not possible, maybe once my cancer is gone I can teach everybody to knit instead 🙂

I’m on my way to radiation… they’re just doing the trial run to make sure all the dots line up.  Tomorrow is the first real one.  Thanks for everything, my friends.

12 thoughts on “One quick picture for Michelle

  1. Michelle’s socks are S-AWE-KSOME! (That’s Awesome + Socks as an exclamation.) You’ll have to give the yarn specs when you have a moment.
    I hope all your dots line up. Did you get them to tattoo any Bible verses while they were tattooing?

  2. I guess you know all this talk about knitting makes me want to learn, believe me I have tried to learn…but maybe…with you as the teacher it could happen! (You might decide knitting a pair for me would be alot easier!)

    Hope Danny is feeling better, maybe this weekend things will feel like spring…that should help everyone’s spirits! Think Spring!!

    Our prayers and thoughts are constantly with you, so think of us all by your side as you go through the next part of your journey.

    Lots of love, hugs and prayers!

  3. Cool socks for Michelle!

    I didn’t feel wise enough to respond to yesterday’s blog, but I have read the responses and I agree with them.

    One thought from yesterday is to never regret the time you snuggle and read to George or Danny. They are such lucky children to have a mother who loves them enough to snuggle and read to them. They are a gift to you and you are one to them.

  4. God is GOOD!!! 🙂 I am glad you have had the good things you posted! Hope you have as much of a pain-free next few days as possible!

    I must share … today, in the van on the way to school Connor (4yrs old) and I were saying our prayers! I mentioned your name and he asked me who you were. I told him an old friend. He asked why we were praying for you. I said that you were not feeling so good these days. He said,” Oh, that makes me so sad and mad. I hope she feels better soon.”

    Many hugs to you and yours!

  5. Dear Elizabeth,

    Your thanking us having the opportunity to share in your life, curses and blessings all, is humbling. I thank you. Nancy

  6. Dear Elizabeth,
    Still praying for you in Michigan!! Will hold you in special prayer tomorrow.
    Be not Afraid!! We are all with you in prayers and supportive love!

    Blessings,
    Jennifer B. in Michigan

  7. Elizabeth dear, I am so touched. Thank you, thank you, thank you –I can’t wait to wear them!

    Every few days I get a new e-mail from someone asking me for the button code. There are SO many people praying.

    Praise God for His mercy. We will continue to pray, pray pray!

  8. Elizabeth,
    Your socks are works of art! I’m glad your trial run went well today. I’ll be praying for you often during these next weeks, for strength, for patience, for complete peace and even joy. I know God can do that.
    I hope your boys are a little better tonight.

  9. Elizabeth,
    I stumbled upon your blog through another friend’s site. Reading your posts is so hard for me, but has brought many blessings to me today. I have a daughter with a life shortening genetic disease called Cystic Fibrosis. Reading about your strength with your numerous struggles has helped me today recongnize that you can move on after tough days (or nights). Thank you for your posts. You will be in our families prayers as will your two boys. God bless.

  10. OH! I love the yarn! So bright and pretty, reminds me of a sunrise. What a blessing they will be to Michelle.
    Didn’t read your blog until today (Thursday) so I am praying right now that your tx goes well and that you are in the “second group”.
    Also praised the Lord with you and sent a copy of your blog note to everyone in our fellowship who has been praying for you. YIPPEE!

  11. What beautiful socks.

    I’ve been reading your blog for awhile, praying for you and your family, when over the last week or two, I realized that I am local to you. I don’t see your email anywhere on here, maybe I’m not looking in the right spot.LOL So I’ll just post here.

    If there is anything at all, that I can do, please drop me an email. I do mean anything at all. I would be honored to help your family in anyway I can.

  12. Hi Elizabeth – I’m not sure how I found you and your blog – but now that I did, I can add you to my prayers.

    Anyway, I love the socks. What yarn is that????? Oooh, please do tell, so I can get some for my next pair 🙂

    God’s peace be with you and your family.

Leave a Reply

