If you’re not a knitter…

I’m just not sure this weekend I’m having is going to sound all that exciting to you.  I just looked through all the photos I’ve taken since Friday night to find a few that truly capture the fun and learning,  the fellowship and the joy of hanging out with like-minded folks…

knit1

and this one above is pretty much it.  I’ve never spent a whole day before with people who would care to talk about the pros and cons of semi-garter stitch lace with an odd number of rows per repeat.  But the thing is, the same kind of people who like to learn about these things like to knit things like this:

knit2

and yes, I noticed that wasn’t a sock 🙂

I’m having a great time, and I even took a good nap during the mid-day break.  Emily called me, and she’s doing fine.  She made fifth chair, so not too bad for a 9th grader!  The boys seem to be coping without us, and are very excited about the snow.  We definitely need to teach George how to talk on the phone before I ever leave him again though… I sure miss his ” ma ma ma ma MA MA MA MA” !!!

Maybe I can take some more interesting pictures tomorrow.

5 thoughts on “If you’re not a knitter…

  1. Well, my dear, you must show us what a Reverse Roman Stripe looks like.
    You crack me up. Who knew knitting could sound so opaque, even to another knitter???? Love the lace. Did you do that????

  2. wow, that lace sure is pretty! please don’t tell me you did that in one day, i will feel so inadequate. 😀 glad you are having so much fun, i can hardly wait to hear about the rest of the weekend.

  3. Now you understand the wonderful feelings we women have when we retreat for sewing – like your Mom, quilting like Edda and I, or knitting or beading or any other possible activity where people with a shared interest gather together. There is no way to totally explain the feelings of being with a group of supportive people who all speak the same ‘language’ and have a great time doing it!

    Also, CONGRATULATIONS on the super good news from the pathology report – wow! I would be dancing in the street for you but by the time I dressed warm enough it would just look like a shuffle!

    Enjoy Emily’s beautiful music this afternoon. The good feelings from the weekend will stay with you for quite some time as there is nothing that compares to it, your girl time with Emily and your retreat combined into a healing, happy, relaxing, joyful, growing weekend and you probably made some new friends too.

  4. I’m not a knitter, but I know the wonder and excitement that a retreat like that provides. I’m going to a quilting retreat this coming weekend and I can hardly wait. I’ll be with 23 other quilting fanatics, loving every minute. By the way, we have a massage therapist there as well and I plan to have at least one massage during my stay.

    You’re probably home by now. Can’t wait to hear more and see some photos. I hope you had a lovely time.

Leave a Reply

