Day three at 1:37 AM

Why am I blogging at 1:37 AM?  It’s the steroids, I think.  I can blame LOTS of things on those steroids… my sweet children wish they could have such a ready excuse 🙂  But they certainly cause insomnia! 

My surgeon’s nurse knew I was anxious to get everything scheduled to have this lump TOTALLY gone, so she stayed late yesterday to get it all worked out.  I’m having it done at 3 PM Wednesday, and I should be home safe and sound by suppertime.  George will be at Betsy’s, and Sara will pick Danny up from school and spoil him terribly until who knows when.  Sam and Emily have Odyssey of the Mind that afternoon, so perhaps Brian should hang out with Sara, too. 

Otherwise, everything is fine, except for the typical chemo day three issues, and we’ve talked about them before… my dad is doing very well after his shoulder surgery, and our little friend Kaitlin, who had her tonsils and adenoids out last week, is home safe and sound.

Oh, I know!  I need to tell you more about Kaitlin.  After George was born (too early and with Downs) we had the HARDEST time getting started nursing.  You’d think after breastfeeding for so many years I’d be able to work it out, but it took two lactation consultants, a speech therapist and four months to get things going.  I decided I needed to find some other moms who had made it through the tough times and were successfully nursing their babies with down syndrome… so I looked up my old La Leche League group to see if any of the leaders knew of any moms, and within maybe two hours they had connected me with a mom in that very group who was nursing her toddler with D.S.!  As embarrased as I was (but I got over that fast) to be bottle feeding a baby at a LLL meeting, I attended with George the next week, and met Kaitlin and her mom.  What an amazing blessing to meet an articulate, beautiful, active little girl with Downs just as we were struggling through George’s issues!  (and her articulate, beautiful, active mom has continued to be a wonderful support to me…)

I think my sleeping pill is starting to work, so I’m going to go back to bed.  Please forgive me if I’ve been rambling, I’ll just blame the steroids.

Love, Elizabeth

9 thoughts on “Day three at 1:37 AM

  1. Dear Elizabeth,

    I wish that I had wise and wonderful words for you, but I have only prayers and tears. Know you are strong, faith-filled, courageous, and loved by many. Nancy

  2. I can not improve one thought in Nancy Ray’s comment. I feel exactly the same way, but I will add that you can ramble anytime in your blog.

    Peace, patience, and prayers to you and your family.

  3. home by suppertime??? no stay???

    we will light a candle that afternoon, we will pray for you, for your family, and for the entire team taking care of you, esp. the surgeons and all those who will assist.

    anytime you are up at night, please feel free to give me a call, i’m up by 3:30 am most nights myself.

    much much love to you, elizabeth. {{{HUGS}}}

  4. Dear Elizabeth,

    You are in my prayers even more than usual since this latest news. I can’t offer to join the cooler fairy team or drive your children to their activities or babysit sweet George, but I can pray and this I do faithfully. A warm Valentine’s Day hug to you.

  5. I agree with the others before me ~ we will continue to pray.
    I love the idea of lighting a candle while you are in surgery (there will be one lit for you over here too) & to not only pray for your family but the surgeons too.
    Saying the rosary was the one thing that helped Kaitlin & I as she was in recovery waking up from anesthia~ so I will offer one up for you during your surgery too.
    love & prayers,
    Kristin & little Kaitlin too

  6. Elizabeth- I had no idea you were travelling down this path! I am sitting here in shock and awe (and certainly tears) after reading your entire blog! I totally agree with everything that Nancy Ray said above. You are one of the strongest women I am proud to know! MANY hugs to you!!! I so miss seeing you and getting updates about all your little ones at the scrapbook store …and Miss Harriet’s brownies 🙂 Please let me know if there is anything we can do for you!

Leave a Reply

