Small successes

Sometimes just getting through a few things with just a little bit of grace adds up to a pretty good day.

FaithButton

Danielle B.  (another Danielle, not George’s godmother) suggested it and I think it really helps me keep my additude less negative.  Click the button above to see her site.

1.  I got through chemotherapy yesterday despite some complications… they decided I needed an echocardiogram (heart test) RIGHT AWAY so they gave me three drugs, unhooked me, sent me in the car (don’t worry, I wasn’t driving :-)) to the cardiologist’s office, got the test done and then back to chemotherapy for another drug.  Sometimes a change in plan like that can really stress me out when I’m stressed anyway, but it all ended up fine.

2.  Betsy is here.  She keeps me laughing, keeps me on task asking the oncologist all my important questions, and helps me see the best parts of all of my babies.  It’s hard for me to ask her to leave her busy practice to come help me, but I did, she’s here, and it’s good.

3.  I kept up with my hydration reasonably well by drinking through the night last night… not having to run IV’s at night lets Dixon and everybody else  sleep much more soundly.   This is good because Dixon lost to Betsy in rock-paper-scissors and he therefore takes 5 children to violin this morning while Betsy takes me back for more chemo.  (Betsy’s staying at Hotel 1430…. AKA Sara’s house… so she escapes all the night time chaos regardless!)

Small successes… but if we can keep them up, maybe this round will be a little easier.  

Love, Elizabeth

One thought on “Small successes

  1. Dear Elizabeth ~

    What a simple and effective way to focus on the positive. Success breeds success and leads to accomplishments that feel so satisfying, don’t you think? I celebrate your HUGE successes – another chemo round begun and completed, your willingness to ask Betsy to come knowing the comfort her presence would bring, and successful hydration. How thoughtful you are being of your family and yourself – good for you!

    One of my small successes for today was to find a quote or two for you.

    “Knit on, with confidence and hope, through all crises.”
    Elizabeth Zimmermann, 1910-1999

    “In the rhythm of the needles, there is music for the soul.”
    from an old sampler (credit to Purl’s Yarn Emporium)

    My students and I continue to pray for you by name every day during morning intentions. Keep on spinning!

    Jan

Leave a Reply

