“And how are YOU doing, Elizabeth??”

“We all know your kids are thriving.  But how are YOU?” 

I guesss when more than ten people ask me that in one day, it’s time to change our focus here.    The easiest way I can think of to give you a little snapshot of what things are like for me at this moment is to borrow from Peggy’s Simple Woman’s Daybook…. ( http://thesimplewomansdaybook.blogspot.com/ )

Outside my window…

Children are looking awfully cold… it was 20 degrees here, but not much will keep certain boys I know indoors. 

I am thinking…

That the worst part of chemotherapy this round is the mouth sores (and lip sores, and throat sores, and thrush infection….)  I am also thinking that if they don’t heal all up before the next round I’m going to be in big trouble.  Today is day 12 of round 3, so day 54 total.  Gosh it seems like WAY longer than that.  More than 100 days left to go.

I am thankful for…

Ranch dressing.  Another chemo-mama clued me in, from her experiences a few years ago, and it helps almost as much as prescription  “Magic Mouthwash” on all the mouth sores but tastes far better. 

 
From the schoolroom:

Only Sam has a bit of work left to do… one week’s worth of Henle Latin, the last bit of “The Restless Flame” (a fictional biography of St. Augustine), only half a page of Art of Problem Solving… then Christmas break will officially start for our school.

From the kitchen…

I can hear the big kids and their friend Annie discussing the artistic merits of all the cookies we decorated last night.  What a party that was!!!  Pictures tomorrow…  Mr. webmaster’s hands are too sticky to let him resize my photos right now.

I am wearing…

Brand new handmade wool socks that my friend Gay mailed me today.   And my new lymphedema sleeve and gauntlet.  This is a thick elastic thing that goes from my knuckles to the very top of my arm, to help control the swelling.  

I am creating…

Not much right now… no knitting until my fingers work a little better.  I never did get around to doing Christmas cards this year.  Oh well. 

I am going…

to take Danny and Brian to go see Santa this evening at South Park Mall.  I think the whole crew will go, and Emily and Sam will windowshop with George while we wait in line. 

I am reading…

How about “I am going to be reading…”?  The People of the Book, as soon as the UPS guy comes with the box from Amazon.  It’s our book club book this month, and I’m looking forward to it.  Chemotherapy really does a number on my vision and my concentration for at least a week (and it seems like it takes longer to recover with each cycle), so if I don’t get it done this week, it might not be finished by the meeting.

I am hoping…

That the lyphedema in my arm stays mild, that my mouth heals up, and that when they give me IV iron next week, my anemia gets better fast so that I don’t get so darn short of breath walking up the hill to church.

I am hearing…

New music – Emily, George and I stopped at the big old sheet music distributor this morning since it’s around the corner from the lymphedema sleeve place.  We got her audition piece for regionals, but also some fun new trio music and a HUGE anthology of fiddle tunes. 

Around the house…

Paper Christmas ornaments covered wtih glue and glitter are drying on every horizontal surface. 

One of my favorite things…

is when my kids get all excited about gifts they have made, all by themselves,  for other people. 

A few plans for the rest of the week:

Christmas Eve Children’s Mass… which I always love, love, love.  Then we’re having brunch at Sara’s after presents in the morning. 

Here is picture thought I am sharing

fingers

How in the heck am I supposed to get anything done like this??? 

I’d take a picture of my mouth, but I’m not sure that would be constructive….

Here comes the UPS truck!

Love, Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

