They make me laugh, they make me cry

dannys-day

Each day, each child (except George) has to find or think of one “G” rated joke for me.  Laughter heals.  Today’s from one boy was a real winner.

A guy goes into a store, and he sees a Thermos.  He asks the store person what it was, and the person told him, “It’s a thermos!”  He asks what it’s for.  The person tells him, “It’s to keep hot foods hot and cold foods cold.”  The guy thinks this is very cool, so he buys the thermos.

The next day he takes it to work with him.  He shows it to his friends.  His friends ask him what it is.  He tells them that it’s a thermos.  They ask what it’s for.  He tells them it’s to keep hot foods hot and cold foods cold.  Then they ask him what he put in it.

(scroll down for the punch line….)

*******

*******

He tells them,  “Two cups of coffee and a popsicle.”

Another boy here had a little chat with me about breast cancer.  It went like this:

Boy – Hey mom, remember when I was a baby?

Me – yes, why?

Boy – Remember when you told me I used to nurse all day and I used to nurse all night?

Me – yes, why? (… where are we going with this, and why don’t you sound tired?)

Boy – You know how you have breast cancer?

Me – yes, why? (… this is either going to be very interesting or very bad)

Boy – Because George is a baby and you can’t nurse him anymore because you have breast cancer.

Me – I know.  That’s very sad.

Boy – But mom?

Me – Yes?

Boy – Does breast cancer mean you can’t grow any more new babies for our family?

Sob.

One thought on “They make me laugh, they make me cry

Leave a Reply

